My Apothecary - Wintergreen

in #herbal6 years ago

I have decided that Mondays I will be sharing My Apothecary.
I have been foraging for plants for many years, and I have decided to share what I have been collecting.
This is also helping me get everything catalogued and organized. Seems like a win win for everyone!

Please know that I do not sell my remedies, and I am not a doctor. My advice is to research everything. We should always be mindful in what we do to heal our vessels, our body. Many of these remedies are good for the spirit to. We are all spiritual beings, the plants are just and connected to mother earth as we are. Even more so.

It is very important to honour all beings, with respect and love. There have been times that I have gone to pick medicines, and I have heard NO. I offer the tobacco and give thanks for the wisdom.

Everyone has the knowledge to their own path of well being.


source

Benefits of Wintergreen:

stimulate digestion
stimulates blood circulation
rheumatism/arthritis
treating back pain
headaches
fever
sore throats

I use it in baking for flavouring.

I loved taking this picture! the smell!! I want to make pull taffy now!!
I love collecting the leaves in the summer, I dehydrate them for teas. The berries I harvest in the fall. The berries have a pithy texture to eat them, but they are great in tea. I dehydrate them. When we harvest , we take a few leaves from the plant. For most plants we go by the 1/3 rule. 1/3 for us, 1/3 for the environment and other critters, and 1/3 for the plant to regrow, seed, etc.
This year I will be putting them in alcohol for baking. Like you would do vanilla.

In the winter we add the leaves to our foot baths. It is great for detoxing and de-stressing. It makes us sleepy!
It is also good for the days that we get very cold, it is good for hypothermia, and frostbite. It is good for blood circulation.

We drink the tea for tummy troubles, when things get a little backed up with gas. I will add a little honey to Avia's.
We were excited to read about it in the Laura Ingalls series! They even harvested in the winter. It is easy to distinguish then you break the leaf...it smells like wintergreen. That wonderful minty smell!

20180501_123530.jpg

I have used fresh, dried, and tea.

Dried
I pick the plants around 10 am. After the dew and moisture are off the plants. I hang them upside down in small bunches to dry in a warm area out of the sun. You could also use a dehydrator.

Tea
Using fresh or dried flowers/stems/leaves, lightly crush and add to boiled water. Let steep for desired time. Teas are good for internally. I also use strong teas for baths, compresses, and washes.

This year I will be making a tincture/extract for flavouring for baking.

Tinctures
Cover fresh flowers/leaves/stems with 95 proof vodka, I generally use a grain-free traditional potato vodka and a 1:2 fresh herb ratio. Sometimes I use a good quality sherry. Laura Ingalls mom used whiskey!! Shake gently every day, and let sit for 4-8 weeks, out of sunlight. Strain out the flowers/leaves/stems and cap tightly.

Sort:  

Thanks for those tips so useful, so avoid using traditional medicine and fill our body with chemical additives; when it comes to a mild ailment. Other major cases if we must go to the doctor.
What a wonderful nature, offering its benefits.

Everything is right at our fingertips, when we are connected to mother earth. It is such a blessing to be able to do that and share. Thank you so much for stopping by! It is great to connect with like minds!

Great post!
Is this plant found in the bushes or is it planted, I don't remember coming across any plants looking like this one around here.

It's low to the ground, about 4- 6" high. It grows around the pine trees. Seems to to well with caribou moss. Thick waxy leaves.

I blew up the picture.. I may have seen'em, I will keep my eye out now :)

sometimes the leafs are a little golden or reddish brown in their dormant season

CONGRATULATIONS!
Your post is featured in this week's Preppers' Curation Day- Weekly Edition 12!

Thank you soo much!!!! I appreciate your support, grateful for all you do for this community!

We don't have wintergreen here. It is one that I would love to have here though.

I would think it would thrive there, since we are so comparable! I will see how to collect seed!

I would think so as well. I am surprised it is not here. Seeds would be fantastic. There are so manybeautiful plants on this planet. What an amazing place.

I was just reading how to save seed. It i pretty easy. I will be out collecting fireweed shoots in that area. I will collect some for you seeds for you. :) I am in awe everyday. So much learning and remembering! xoxo

Thank you for collecting seeds for us. I would love to have some here. Hugs

Oh so cool! What a great post! I love this series of yours 💜 i wonder if there is any chance wintergreen grows in these parts! What a beautiful plant! Have a beautiful day @earthmother 🌸🌹🌸

I think it needs cold. So if you have winter..it should grow!! I love seeing you on my posts! Love the little emoticons!! So cheery!!! Xoxo

Really appreciated the great info on wintergreen and looking forward to more posts like it. I use wintergreen oil for arthritis and it's pretty good!

Thank you so much for stopping by!! Isn't wintergreen wonderful!!?? I am doing posts every Monday! Looking forward to seeing you you again!!

My favorite part of these posts is always the pic of the page with ~Your Writing~ and the "handful" of plant. I always pause for a moment... Thank you.

Thank you so much for that! It feels so good to open them up, and hold them. I love that I am making a journal for the plants. I love that you feel it too.

The leaves in your picture look almost leathery. Did you find those in this area? That would be interesting of so :p Thinking for Danny and the kids ^_^

I got them in the bush here!!! When you break the leaf.. it smells wintergreen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52