How to resolve the IPFS Error when uploading DTube videos

in #help6 years ago (edited)


The IPFS error is something that has caused me a bit of frustration recently and apparently some of you as well. I got two messages asking if I can do a video on how to resolve it, so here it is.

I don't know what causes the IPFS error.
If you do know then please let us know in the comments. I have tried different file sizes and video formats but it made no difference.
What I did find is that if I just keep trying to upload the video, eventually it will work.
Yesterday I tried six times and on the last attempt it finally work.
It does not always happen, but I would say maybe 1 in every 5 videos I upload it would occur.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

For a mass adoption to happen on Dtube. It should offer an easy upload of videos for non technical persons and also easy view. I know ot is still evolving but I just want to send message to developers to know that every user is not a techy person.

I am new to Dtube and Steemit, but I just want to see constant development and I will be happy. If Dtube is still having all these issues in a year, I will be disappointed. It is not easy to compete with the infrastructure of Youtube. Decentralization for the win though.

I found a tutorial that might help you on 2022 here you go

let me know if it worked for you. Kind regards.

Hey paul there is an more easy way. The Video is in German when its to complicated let me know .


Then i will make a english tutorial ;)

I have seen all kinds of misinformation on dtube regarding the IPFS Error while uploading. Misinformation ranges from file size, login issues, what platform you use, the video codec, etc.

Myths debunked:

  1. You can't upload 4K video.
    False, the following 4K video uploaded |

  • You can only upload using Windows.
    False | I use Firefox on Android and Firefox on Linux Ubuntu 17

  • Video uploaded has a limit on length or file size.
    False: I have uploaded video 17 minutes long and size about 3GB.

  • I have been using Firefox on mobile or Linux desktop without many issue until recently when no matter what I do, IPFS upload errors persist.

    I've tried all the best best browsers on Android like Firefox, Chrome, Dolphin, etc and all have the same IPFS error. Same goes for Firefox, and Chrome, for Linux.

    Being a religious Linux user I see issues all the time, but they get resolved.

    We are increasingly moving into a mobile computing world and it is vital that Dtube release a working mobile application that succesfully uploads video and gives clear guidelines. Given most creators are using smartphones, on Android likely, than I would implore Dtube developers to release a Dtube app for the Android platform.

    Sign out and sign in again!
    It can only be managed for now!!
    That's how I find my way through as well.

    Video is not working I had to research my own video that fixed that goes around it. If you are interested How to fix IPFS error here the link or go to dtube and search for it hope it helps let me know

    terimakasih informasinya silahkan kunjungi juga punya kami ya....@tubles17 terimakasih

    I noticed that the daemon running locally somehow resolves this, but bugs our on regular basis, so you need to restart it often. IPFS needs a lot of tuning to become stable.

    Seems same issue in 2022. Overdue fix?
    Could we get a easy thumbnail like YT and Odysee ?

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.16
    TRX 0.13
    JST 0.026
    BTC 57960.12
    ETH 2482.73
    SOL 155.31
    SBD 2.43