Rolling Reputation Number? WTF is Going On?

in #help6 years ago

Reputation Spinwheel.jpg

So I was checking out a new Steemians account, looking at one of their two posts, and something weird caught my eye. Their Reputation Score was changing before my eyes, just like a rolling odometer. I probably wouldn't have even notice their Reputation Score if I hadn't watched it go from 52,to 52.5, to 53, then 53.5 and so forth until it finally ended on 55.2. I had never seen something like that happen, so I started checking the account to see how one might increase a score like that. That kind of information could come in handy.

But here's the thing. This new Steemian has been here only two days, has made 5 posts, most of those being comments or replies. Only two of their posts were original root posts. They only have 3.6 SP, 2.791 STEEM and $1.4 SBD's. The two root posts have about 100 upvotes and just under $400 in curration that has yet to be paid. They paid some good STEEM for bot upvotes for the two root posts.

But how did their Reputation Score ratchet up like the spin wheel on a slot machine?

Something seems off, but it is very possible that I don't know enough about Steemit yet to say so for sure. All I can say is that I've never seen it, never heard someone give advice on how to do something like this or have experienced anything like it in my own account. I've been here 60 days now, made 141 posts (about a third of those being original root posts) and spent hundreds of dollars promoting my posts thus earning hundreds of dollars in curration too. And yet, my Reputation Score is no better than this new, two-day old account.

Again, I'm not accusing anybody of wrong doing, I would just like to know the mechanism of how this works. I was under the impression that Reputation was based on the amount of time an account is active and how many posts, root posts being favored, one makes more than anything else. But that doesn't seem to be the case. Or at least not in this case. I've included a screenshot above, but have blanked out any identifying information. I'm not looking to throw anybody under the bus, I just want to understand how it all works.

If anyone has an answer or explanation, please let me know in the comments. Thanks!

Sort:  

howdy from Texas @matthias-green..just found your blog and this post, very interesting. Hey if you've only been here for 60 days and you already have a rep score of 55, then that is a much faster rise than the vast majority so congratulations!

As far as this incident which you witnessed with the new account..who knows but they sure ain't payin their dues like the rest of us!

Pleased to meet you, Janton. Yeah, if my score is faster than most, then I don't understand why either. I just assumed it was because I was posting with some regularity, but I don't know. Hopefully someone more techy or with inside knowledge sees this and can educate us all.

I ask this question all the time and most people, even brilliant ones, don't fully understand it
but most agree that luck plays a major roll! lol. Some shoot up there because they are blessed to
have found favor with a few big players, leaders or even whales. God bless you and yours!

Right? Weird, but weirder still to see it happen in real time, ticking up like a stop watch or something.

Yeah i was new and caught up in a flag war...never got past 45 with almost 2500 posts. Bs
Joy

I've resisted flagging anybody for just this reason... and it hasn't been easy. I've had a few flat earthers, as well as flat heads, leave me some messages that I really, REALLY wanted to flag. Deep breathes and a brisk walk...much better than getting into a fight that I will regret. I can wait until I hit 75 reputation before I get nasty back! ;^)

Hell yeah!! Thanks for you patience. See you up there!!
Joy

You got a 10.21% upvote from @upme thanks to @matthias-green! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25