What Are Your Biggest Challenges Using Steemit - For Minnows, Dolphins And Whales

in #help8 years ago

I'm developing a website to help new users succeed on Steemit and need your help.
What are your biggest challenges using Steemit?

yourbiggeststeemitchallenge.png

My friends would love to join Steemit, but are having difficulty finding their way around the site.

It can be a chore learning how to navigate, post images and build momentum. I'm going to help and would love your input.

It doesn't matter if you're a minnow, dolphin, whale or pond scum. Your opinion matters.

What Do You Need Help With?

  • If you're new to Steemit, what are you needing help with and what are your biggest challenges using Steemit?
  • If you're an experienced Steemit user, what was the hardest part about getting started on Steemit and what are your biggest challenges now?

Please tell me in the comments below. This will help me help you.

One More Thing

Oh, I almost forgot. You could help me choose a name for the new site I'm building to help new people make the most of Steemit by voting for the website name. It's easy.

Just pick your favorite name by clicking here:

Which Website Name Do You Like Best?


What are your biggest challenges on Steemit?

Thanks for your input and Steem on.

luzchypher hallowween.png

Follow @luzcypher

Sort:  

This is not a bad idea, although I think our time might be better spent figuring out how to bring more people into the site... There are a number of groups out there set up to support new users when they join the site that didn't exist 2 months ago. How can we bring in the next 100k users? that is my question...

Good question and I'm working on that too along with @sykochica. That is another issue entirely.

I'm introducing friends to Steemit and most of them are having a hard time understanding how to make it work for them and end up quitting. Introducing 100,000 new users, many of which will have a similar experience is not going to be pretty. Some people have never blogged before so they need help. That's what this site will be about and I need your help. What was the hardest thing about getting started on Steemit?

For the ones that are ready to promote Steemity to the masses,

The first thing that I noticed was that it was hard to find something to fully explain what steemit was and what a blockchain is in terms I could understand. I had no prior cryptocurrency experience and it was hard to find out what exactly I was becoming a part of. Aside from that... I spent over 1 month writing multiple posts every single day (good posts) without a single one going over $.50. Currie and a couple other groups can help with that aspect nowadays though...

For those with a rudimentary understanding of cryptocurrencies and blockchains, the initial homepage would have more meaning.
To clarify, are you saying it could have been explained more clearly? Or do you think it was necessary to understand cryptocurrencies and blockchains at all to start using Steemit effectively?

People use YouTube and Facebook without understanding the technology behind it. Most will want to know how to earn money on the site, so some explanation is advisable.

I applaud your tenacity to keep posting in spite of your initial earnings. Momentum is slow to start and hard to stop once it begins.

What specific information would have helped you during that first month? What made you frustrated besides small earnings and what kept you going?

Again, thanks sharing this information. We want to help others minimize the difficulty of feeling a bit lost in this, for many, new environment.

Just explaining how everything worked more clearly... I kept at it because I knew it only took 1 post going viral for my account to take off

That's the spirit. Thanks for clarifying. I felt the same way and know how to research to find answers. A simple, tutorial on the background of blockchains and cryptocurrencies, along with a step by step process would have been a better experience for you initially, right? Many thanks for your time and Steem on.

PondScum is a good name, or perhaps Krill
Heh...steemedKrill? (the new taste sensation. Endorsed by Ballen Cetaceans world wide)
You got it right though, the Steemit GOOEY real is..and it stinks on ice.
It's so bad that I use Steemstats as my GUI most of the time. I only use Steemit when I want to post.

Time for Steemit

Making time for Steemit is your biggest challenge? Don't think I can help you with that one.

For me, the hardest part of getting accustomed to Steemit was:

  • Learning to sort good advise from bad
  • Getting a handle on how I would like to see this platform develop to maximize the impact of my votes, comments, posts, and money
  • Inferring by painstaking trial and error what html the post editor would and would not accept

My biggest challenges now?

  • Being wholly unable to afford to do Steemfest in Amsterdam and feeling a little left out
  • Having too few hours in the day to learn everything I would like to learn here
  • Sometimes being unable to find clear answers to simple questions in a timely manner

This is very helpful. Thank you so much. I know exactly how you feel concerning many of the points you made. Seems like we have many of the same challenges. Thanks for taking some time to answer my questions. If yoyu think of anything else, come back and jot them down here. Thank you again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68703.91
ETH 2503.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54