Can you help me (I just lost 140 dash ~1400$) on a scam website that nobody wants to shutdown ...

in #help8 years ago (edited)

Hi there,

In one of my previous post I was trying to warn people about the danger of scam sites .

And today I just found out, that I am a victim of such a site, I just lost about 1400$, with a blink of an eye.
As you can see below, the amount is in the processing state and will stay that way forever apparently

the scam site name is dash-wallet.com

I am not the only one who was trapped in there : https://www.dash.org/forum/threads/www-dash-wallet-com-is-a-scam-website.8267/

Apparently the site is operating at least from March 2016, and as of today is still open. The scam works very well, as when you search for 'dash online wallet' on google, it's the first result that comes up.

So my questions are:

  1. As the site is still running, is there any way to find out who is behind it (I know about whois, and that you can put anything in there, so that will not be enough)
  2. Is there any way to have the site shutdown, and the thieves arrested ?

I know I have been quite stupid to send the money without more research, as I thought that the first google result would be a safe one.

Anyway, that was quite a costly lesson, and yes scammy sites are real and persistent on the internet, be safe and more cautious than me !

And yes if you upvote my post, you could help me and alert everyone about one of the many danger of the digital money.

Thank you for your help.

Sort:  

That sucks. Unfortunately I can't help but I do hope someone has some advice on what to do in this kind of situation. This proves how easy it is to get scammed.

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66546.31
ETH 3589.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93