Cannabinoid Hyperemesis Syndrome, Continuing Digestive Issues and H.Pylori Bacteria (Light at the end of the Tunnel!!)

in #helicobacter7 years ago (edited)

(UPDATE CHS does actually exist! I have information from a small number of people who continue to have issues with THC, regardless of how clean their cannabis is. Using low thc cannabis in tiny amounts seems to be ok, and high CBD content does not cause the issue. Using too often, or using too high of a concentration and CHS rears its ugly head. The GOOD news? (for most of us anyway) I estimate about 90% or more of CHS sufferers are solely due to neem/aza contamination 1/18/2019)

Let Me Start This by Saying I'm 100% Cured of My Digestive Issues

If you've been having issues with digestion, since beginning to use cannabis or after changing to a new source of cannabis, you may be suffering from two issues. Azadirachtin Poisoning, and an H.Pylori bacterial infection in your digestive system.
stomach-pain.jpeg

I've Suffered From Digestive Issues Since 2007

which is the year I moved to California and switched to using cannabis from their streets and dispensaries. Even though I eventually figured out what was poisoning me, I continually had digestive issues between the poisoning episodes. As the decade wore on, these issues became worse and worse. I ended up using Miralax for 8 months, just to keep my digestive system moving properly'ish and this was the last straw.

My Wife

has spent a great deal of time, over these years, researching for a solution to my issues. She finally suggested the possibility of my having an H.Pylori bacterial problem. The local physician was happy to administer the test and the results came back positive.

The Treatment for H.Pylori

consists of using two types of antibiotics at once, plus prilosec or a similar product. With that level of antibiotics going through my system, you can believe I ate a lot of yogurt. Clean yogurt like Fayeh and others without additives. Eating about a cup of yogurt a day kept me in good shape and I hadn't a single complaint.

I've Spent Two Months Now Without Issues

Eating things I haven't been able to eat without pain for nearly a decade. I've put on 10lbs and have only had a couple twinges of pain, due to being a glutton. lol It's now a new challenge to keep to my diet clean, out of wanting to stay thin and healthy, instead of because I want to avoid intense pain. lol

There IS Life After CHS!

And I'm rooting for each and every one of you still suffering to conquer it yourself and be free. Go get tested for an H.Pylori infection and report back here if it was positive or negative. Then, if you're positive and go through the treatment, please report back here on the health of your digestive system.

Eventually we'll be able to eliminate this issue. :)

Be Awesome!
(Image courtesy of archive.org)

Sort:  

🤖💬 This post has been Blessed with a 5.88 % upvote from @cannabiscurator Plugged in by @netgodbeerus

I can Help You Pay It Forward and Steem your fellow 🎁💁Steemian back. Simply Transfer 0.042 to @cannabiscurator and the 420 Steemit Post ⛓Link you want 🔼 Upvoted in the Memo.

More details @ https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@cannabiscurator/let-s-grow-the-cannabis-community-together

Steemian Stoner Squad 🙏Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow our Cannabis community on Steemit. Your support helps increase the 💪value of my 🔼 contributions.

small_man.png

Peace in Blunts Fam 🔥💨

Upvoted by our Cannabis Curation Team, the transientflowers cannabis curation project!

Do you want more rewards on original cannabis content?

Helping to build a strong cannabis community on Steemit!


Last Update: Logo/Signature contest 20 SBD prize pool

good post

Thank You

It's taken years and personal testing to finally figure this all out. Looking forward to making it a thing of the past! :)

It seems that your issues were caused by the infection, not azadirachtin poisoning. For months I suffered from an unidentifiable digestive issue. I tested negative for H. Pylori and taking a ppi helped my symptoms but did not resolve them. I had very bad indigestion and bloating, I could barely eat anything. I lost 8 lbs which is significant because I only weighed 115 to begin with. After I stopped smoking the issue was all but gone. I recently procured some cannabis that I know was grown without azadirachtin or neem oil, and it produced the same effects in me. CHS is a real thing that I believe I was in the beginning stages of. I'm glad you've recovered, but CHS is not azadirachtin poisoning.

There Have Been a Tiny Fraction

of cases where I've not been able to trace the issue to azadirachtin. You sound like you're one of those. Cannabis is a hyper/dynamic accumulator and I'll lay dollars to donuts the cannabis is absorbing something which is causing your problem. I'm still dubious there's a 'pure' cannabis issue at the heart of it.

In time we'll see. Hopefully you figure out what yours is.

I Still Have Aza

issues, they're just much less severe without the H.Pylori infection. I've also been keeping myself away from the more heavily tainted cannabis. The most significant aza effects are headache and pain from muscle tension.

This is possible. I was fairly certain that my issues were caused by aza because my indigestion began within a week of switching to a new source, and I began to get eczema on my fingers at the same time. I also had tension headaches every day untiI I stopped smoking cannabis from this source. I had very severe reflux as an infant, and I know that reflux can be caused by low stomach acid as well as high stomach acid. I also know that cannabis reduces bodily fluid secretions, including stomach acid. Perhaps long term use lowered my stomach acid level to the point that I had difficulty digesting food. I wish that cannabis were legal on the federal level so more research could be done on its effects.

Definitely Looking Forward

to Federal legalization. When this happens, the truth will flow and people will become educated. Quite a few improvements will happen to the world at this point. ;)

I should add that I believe I've experienced the "fish hooks" pain that you've described before. Sometimes after smoking, when I bent backwards I could feel a sharp pain in my abdomen at two spots near the bottom of my rib cage. Sometimes this pain would be aggravated just by walking. My stomach pain was never severe, what I felt was mostly bloating and feeling that my stomach contents were rising up my esophagus, but I never vomited. I also did not notice that my symptoms were eased by a hot shower. Perhaps my stomach pain wasn't severe enough for me to notice it being lessened in the shower. I don't think my symptoms match very well with CHS, but they do unfortunately stop me from smoking without discomfort.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61870.12
ETH 2401.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53