The ancient language of ivrit ( עברית ) - Kaf and Kaf SofitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #hebrew7 years ago (edited)

Like the Alphabet,

The letters in Hebrew are called the Alef - Beyt and they are presented on my blog from bottom to the top so you can learn them order, then to read them right to left. You will see what the original "Bible" said and what the names meant as they went through the stories of old.

Shabbat Shalom
Here is Kaf: Symbolizing an outstretched hand (in weakness) or asking to receive.

eb16c871-96a6-466f-a567-8fa5ac0daf97.jpg

It's the 11th letter. It is a consonant . It is also the number 20 when used as a number.

It looks like a backwards "C" and usually sounds like a K sound. The kh sound at the end

Today we learn something new

What is a Sofit letter.
Some letters in Hebrew change shape when they appear as the last letter in a word. That's all it means.

We have Kaf and Kaf Sofit

31534f06-98d1-45bf-b55b-96493c319b4e (1).jpg

Kids learn this one by saying, "The bottom part swings down and hangs straight."

Here is an example: We will only concentrate on a few words at the end. Easy to find

English: Gen 4:11
And now you are cursed from the ground, which has opened its mouth to receive your brother's blood from your hand

Hebrew:

Dama'ee (blood of) ah hee (brother) kha (your)
fe95945e-6096-41a6-bb94-0896e1732d11.jpg
Mee (from) Yad-day (hand) kha (your)

A while back, we learned that a Vav at the end of a word is usually "him" or "his"

Today, we will see that a Kaf at the end usually means "you", "your" or "yours"

I wrote the last three words of the above verse so it is clear that the Kaf Sofit means "your".


Where we are so far

source

Only 11 more letters and you will be reading!

the vowels only have about five sounds - and I will keep telling you how they sound as we go

  • don't worry about the names of the vowels unless you plan to teach Hebrew.

I hope to add meaning to these little lessons each Shabbath as we go. Then we can read together with the vowel points in place and see how it all jives with English.

Thanks for taking the time to read.

Sort:  

Thanks for the information and great job. This is a very important letter.

100% like and resteem

Gr8t

Is this a langeuage

This is a chart showing all 22 hebrew letters + final letters. K, M,N,Ph,Sh

yes you are right bro.......//////

It is valuable and very useful ancient language.

Upvote Resteem

I love to learn this language also .Is interesting and I'm delight by it's difficulty .Excellent post.

The great Mystics say that this alefbet was used to create the Entire Universe - So yes very important to learn.

Created the Universe with letters ? Like the Periodic Table of Elements ? This is very interesting. A,B,G,D,H,V,Z,Ch, T,YK,L,M,N,S,A,P,Tz,Q,R,Sh,Tv ?

The letter Aleph is number 1 .... atomic #1 is Hydrogen ... atomic #2 is Helium .... What are the 2, initial Elements of the Universe at the moment of Creation ? Hydrogen and Helium .... 1,2 Aleph and Bet ... Aleph-Bet created the Universe.

Atomic # https://www.lenntech.com/periodic-chart-elements/atomic-number.htm

After I read few lines about BEYT , i am so much interested in learning more .

I have decided to bring out my own and paper whenever I get an update from you 👍

Take a look at what I did with some questions beneth it
IMG_20171104_074437.jpg

I have noticed the bet looks a lot like the 1st kaf ,...and that the kahf (soffit) looks a lot like the dalet and resh. Maybe with time we will be able to differentiate - when we see them used in words.... At 1st I was looking for the backward "C" shape at the end of "your hand" and "your brother" before I understood his drawing of a dropping line.

It seems Alef is similar
to the Alif in Arabic. This letter, Kaf, is easier than the previous one.

Kids learn this one by saying, "The bottom part swings down and hangs straight."

This makes it easier to remember the variation, how it appears when it ends a sentence. Thanks for sharing, my @hebrew friend.

While I was reading his post , I said to my self , ALEF sounds familiar / heard it somewhere somehow.

I knew rememberd i heard it from my Islam friends in form of Alif like you said 😂👍

Yes, I had a muslim friend that was teaching me alphabets in arabic one time.

Wow I love the letter we meant today . It changes shape when it appears last in a word .it's surprising how it all got formed .
I'm still learning 👍 @hebrew thanks

אני לומד את השפה שלך עדיין. כרגע זה שפה נהדרת. יש לי יום טוב בעברית.

I flow you

hello @hebrew this post is really owesome...hebrew language is the best language..i like your recent . post...wonderful recharge in hebrew language...i love hebrew language...

i will always support you man!!!

Very nice your post... Please check my posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36