The ancient language of ibrit - Dalet and an extra called VavsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #hebrew7 years ago (edited)

Like the Alfabet, The letters in Hebrew are called the Alef - Beyt They are presented on my blog from bottom to the top so you can learn them order, then to read them right to left. You will see what the original "Bible" said and what the names meant as they went through the stories of old.

Here is Dalet: Symbolizing a Door. I am also adding a hard one called Vav. (it has a million functions.

Dalet is a consonant . It is also the number 4 when used as such.

  • The sound this letter makes when pronounced is just like a "D".

Second new letter today

The Vav can be a V sound, or a vowel sound saying "Oh" or "OO" ( ask in Poke or New).

In this case the Vav is a V sound, and the dot below it makes an "ee" soundafter the "vee".

Vav has a numerical value of 6 when used in math. (I skipped a letter yesterday to give you a word today)

The word “vav” represents a “hook”,“spear”, or “tent peg” in Hebrew, thus the meaning reminds us of its shape and this more directly connected to this meaning.

The word below is the name David - better pronounced in Hebrew and Dah-Veed.

d8b99d8f-1d0f-4a21-b731-2ffab2be8322.jpg

I highlighted the vowel pointings in blue this time .

I hope to add meaning to these little lessons each Shabbath as we go. Then we can read together with the vowel points in place and see how it all jives with English.

Thanks for taking the time to read.

Sort:  

omg!! you uploded this post at the day of kippur!! you are jewish?

אתה יהודי? אם לא מהיכן הזיכה והידע בשפה העברית?

התגובה הכי רווחית שלי בסטימית איי פעם!!!!!!!!!!

Comments are quality, I hope @hebrew @bcc @done. . Want to visit my blog. . Thank you

@hebrew, @done, @bcc, @uradick , @btu ,follow me back please my friend.

@hebrew

you upvote my comment but didnt answered. are you jewish? its very interesting to know more about you.

as a jewish guy who lives in israel.

Thanks for highlighting that really nice got it :D

Wow. . Your comment gets the vote from @done. . . Good friend

Congratulations @hebrew
MinnowsPower listed your post "The ancient language of ibrit - Dalet andand extra called Vav" as one of the top 5 upvoted and commented posts of the day...!!!

Exceptional article and learning about one of the ancient language of the world...!!!

100% Upvoted by @MinnowsPower

MinnowsPower is not a bot, I am a Crowdfunding Hybrid
One small UpVote of Yours build MinnowsPower and MinnowsPower will Not Forget Your Support...!!!

Comments are quality, I hope @hebrew @bcc @done. . Want to visit my blog. . Thank you

@hebrew,
Wow this is a great lesson again! This is an interesting things for me! Thanks for sharing such wonderful lesson with us!

Cheers~

nice work friend and thank you for sharing @hebrew and resteem your post

I like your post
The great @hebrew

Every time I learn something new from your wonderful posts! I wish I could speak ibrit - it hides so much secrets and surprises inside I would never know without your lessons here

Thank you, teacher :) Seriously, thank you. Very intelligible.

I have learned something new , thanks for sharing

This post has received a 8.66 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @alexvan

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05