Picking a Charity

in #heartgoodnesschallenge8 years ago (edited)

 

  1. 1Consider what the charity will do with the clothes you donate. There are lots of options for charities that accept baby clothes. Many charities, like Salvation Army or Goodwill, have locations across the country, while other charities may just be based in your area. Decide what you want your clothes to do:
    • Some charities will resell your items and use the proceeds to fund programs.
    • Other charities give used baby clothes directly to families in need.
  2. 2Ask for recommendations. Once you have narrowed down the mission of the charity, ask around for recommendations from family, friends, and local community members. They might be able to recommend a respected charity they had a good experience with.
  3. 3Run an internet search. You can also check with local government offices or nonprofits to see if there are any programs in the area that need baby clothes.
    • Before deciding on a charity, check websites like CharityWatch.org and CharityNavigator.org, which grade charities around the world on their efforts and reliability.
  4. 4Find out what kind of donations your top charities accept. Once you have settled on a few options, check to see the qualifications for giving to that charity. Some charities might only accept a certain size or gender of clothes, while others may limit it to seasonal clothing.
    • Charity needs vary throughout the year depending on their donation levels, so be sure to check with the charity each time you donate.
  5. 5Consider donating to several different charities. If you have a lot of possible items to donate, check with a number of charities to see what they need most and divide your items to meet each charity’s needs.
Sort:  

I've got some advice for you.

Do your good deeds in secret - or better still, do them in such a way as you get blamed for doing them.

Then you will truly know what is really coming from your heart and what is actually from your ego.

" Within 24 hours they will have to do the same. If they refuse to do so, they will have to transfer 10% of the total amount of their wallet to account @steemit. "

The more good I do, the more I get called a greedy capitalist. :)

amen.

giving someone an ultimatum of "play by MY rules on MY timeline or give YOUR money to someone of MY choice...?"

this doesn't fly by me.

I have plans of going to make a donation at an orphanage this week. But if I don't do it on YOUR timeline within 24 hours, then according to you, I don' have a heart...?

I commend your efforts here. And I commend @onceuponatime 's calling out ego when he sees it.

I'm sorry, honey - yes, there's ego in your proposal. You're trying to win brownie points by manipulating people into playing YOUR game that makes you LOOK like a good person, painting them out to be heartless if they don't agree to YOUR rules. you may have a good heart. but there's also something there in the shadows that doesn't sit right.

I WILL give to a cause of MY choice, on the timeline I've set for this week.

the REASON I give is not to look good in your eyes or anybody else's.

I was planning on making a story out of it to post on here, but frankly after seeing the way you've conducted yourself with this, I'd rather my giving remain anonymous and NOT for public applause.

Excuse me you are. I already apologized to @piedpiper. I think you misunderstood me too. Punishment is not the idea of my message. I didn't want to show that someone is not good. The main thing I wanted to show people that STEEMIT can do good things. They can occur by themselves of course, and all you do I have no doubt. I just didn't think that someone can refuse. So I made up this sentence on the transfer of funds to the account @steemit symbolically. I wanted you as the famous people, shown by all those who came here for easy money that it is not important here, that we can do more together. Look, people come here, take the money and leave forever. You know? I'm not waiting for approval, this is not important for me. I want to make the world better, to help those who need my help.

I have nothing against that would change that. For me, the main idea is to show people that STEEMIT can do amazing good things together. Let's change the rules of the game, I created them as I felt right. You think otherwise, and I can hear you. We're a community, we can discuss it. Tell me how, I do not have this experience. The idea of a marathon because good? Let's fill STEEMIT kindness and love. Let's keep the main thing:

  1. Do a good deed!
  2. Tell us about it on STEEMIT use hashtag #heartgoodnesschallenge.
  3. Send your video challenge to any three users.

I'm not looking for fame, I want to do good. Do NOT need to abandon their intentions. Fix my mistakes. Let's run this marathon together.

I believe that everyone you challenged is a good person. You are therefore insinuating that the people I believe to be good people (not just my friend @piedpiper but someone I've never met @rok-sivante) are bad people. That doesn't make me feel good :/ Just my perspective #nojudgement

thank you for sharing this @andrarchy . frankly, such a proposition doesn't make me feel good either, to be forced to play someone else's game on THEIR timeline by THEIR rules to support THEIR campaign of winning brownie points and community applause.

You are mistaken in their conclusions. I believe that all people are good. I didn't even think about that. As confusing cause and effect. Attracting new users, with thoughts of easy money for simple work (story about yourself, a couple of lines of text) we get those who are earning the money goes. Whether they will make STEEMIT reliable? The same people that will come in STEEMIT to help others, with thoughts on charity, they will stay with the project for a long time. Money for them is not important in life. It seemed to me, It seems like a reasonable marketing tactic for the platform. This would fill YouTube with hundreds of videos on how STEEMIT does good things. Perhaps it would have attracted, STEEMIT many charities, and with them would come and millions of people supporting them.

I love what you're doing! Few people are selfless, I like that tagging initiative. Please don't take this as judgment, but are you sure we can't do this without the force aspect?

There are people like me who are voluntarist and we feel strange about participating on force-based.. Well everything. Think about it as vegetarians who don't eat meat, and I'm asking for the vegetarian option.

I know your intentions are very noble, and that your initiative can change a lot of lives, in fact I hope it picks up.

Just for me, and I'm sure for the rest of Voluntarists here, which I know quite a few here, there is the force aspect that creates a conflict of interest.

Religions all thought the ages forced people to do good things, but at what cost? Not comparing your initiative to that. Of course not. Just that the only way you know the difference is to not use force under any circumstance.

I know this may sound weird to you, but that are people who prefer to deal with others exclusively on a voluntary basis. That means, no punishing kids verbally or otherwise, no withholding attention from your partner to get them to do what you want. No matter if what you want is best.

There is always another way.

Plus, the fear aspect is another sticky thing, maybe fear is not the best motivating aspect.

Bottom line, I really love the initiative, and I admire your kindness. I'm just asking for the non-force aspect, if you think that's ok?

Sorry for the long post! I wish bests of luck obviously!

amen. notion seconded.

More of this please! You're awesome to do this! If I knew how to code bots I'd upvote this 50 times and move you to the /hot category. ;)

Thank you very much ! Your support gives me strength ! You could take part one of the first and cause three top users ! :)

Why isn't this getting more love? You are like a one-woman Steemwagon going through Russia and spreading the word and charity. My good deed of the day will be commenting about 900 more times. I am a gift.

I want to support you in this! I'll do the same! She does amazing things. That's all I can.

You are going to comment 900x today???? God bless you. Stay hydrated. Stretch first.

I don't believe jennamarbles is someone who believes in force at all. Her passion is admirable but led to her overlooking how aspects of her message might come across. To her credit she's apologized and seems anxious to make sure the purpose of her idea is not lost....to help others. Steemers helping others.

I totally understand why some would want to give in private or anonymously, i generally fall into this category. I also think it's fantastic to proclaim giving widely. It should be an individual choice in each case. There is a generosity of spirit in the world that is just waiting to find purchase, to be unleashed. Steem's design makes it possible for Steemers to be the spark!

Best of luck jennamarbles, you are awesome. Good luck!

Some of us like to remain in the shadows, but there's another side of giving openly. It reminds others to do good - which is perfectly fine. Just plain old misunderstanding. Words are easily misconstrued after all..

Anyway - keep up the spirit @jennamarbles!

Here's a funny video that relates to this situation :)

This what we call a community, thank you for your contribution. Steemit is an ideal platform to fund charities, your post proves it. Get up voted this is quality content, if we all did this than this world would be a better place

That's exactly what I'm trying to say

@jennamarbles This is awesome! Been ignoring it because I thought it had something to do with heart health. Perhaps give it a name like "payitforward" like in this movie... http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0223897/

As for the people knocking you and the idea. I seriously doubt all of you are native english speakers or are taking into context that you have a double language barrier. You're knocking on @jennamarbles because of the way she's saying some things, but it comes from being fluent but not native. I have german friends put things in a similar way sometimes, because english is a real pain to get the nuances right with.
Quit freaking out on the poor girl, get your butts out there and have some fun with her challenge. Post it if you want, or keep your good works in secret. The same karma comes from it.

Anyways @jennamarbles you got my upvote!

This is an amazing idea!

thank you I hope will support me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59