Healthy2018! Easy Homemade Hemp Milk

in #healthy20186 years ago (edited)

Why homemade hemp milk? Well, it is fresh. You can control the quality of ingredients, avoid preservatives, create your own flavour and ditch the packaging from store bought plant based milk. Bonus....it is soooo good for you!

Finished pic of chocolate hemp milk in the snow, cos there is snow everywhere anyways.....
20180107_100940.jpg

Hemp seeds are a powerful food you should get into your diet anyway you can. Hemp milk itself is an excellent digestible protein, the seeds actually contain complete protein with all 10 amino acids. Hemp seeds contain anti-inflammatory properties (excellent for building muscle), calcium, iron, fiber, magnesium, potassium, and B vitamins. They are a great source of Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids plus other antioxidants, vitamins, minerals, fibre, liver enzymes, chlorophyll and of course (healthy) plant based fats.

Homemade hemp milk is fresh and so good compared to commercial brands. A big bonus versus making nut based milk is that there is no soaking process with hemp seeds. Make it and drink it! Also....cheaper. Much cheaper.

Ready to try? It is easy peasy.

Only 3 ingredients to make unsweetened hemp milk!
20180107_094834.jpg

Today I made sweetened. Maybe chocolate....
20180107_094809.jpg

Hemp seeds, water and salt into the blender
20180107_095137.jpg

All blended!
20180107_095412.jpg

20180107_095407.jpg

Since my blender is weak, I always strain it
20180107_095542.jpg

A pic of the hemp seed pulp from straining....there is a few spoons worth and I stir it into yogurt so it isn't wasted
20180107_100213.jpg

Ta-da!! Hemp milk!!!!
20180107_100306.jpg

We decided on chocolate after all, so adding sweetner (maple syrup) and cacao powder
20180107_100455.jpg

20180107_100546.jpg

It is really easy to make this twice a week...try it, you will love it and you will LOVE the health benefits ❤

UNSWEETENED HEMP MILK

1 cup raw shelled hemp seeds
3 cups filtered water
a pinch of Pink Himalayan or Celtic sea salt

Add ins for sweetened hemp milk

1 tsp natural vanilla extract
3 pitted dates
2 tbsp pure maple syrup*

chocolate milk
Sweetened hemp milk plus 2 tbsp cacao powder

  • adjust any add ins to taste:)

For whole milk, you are going to throw the hemp seeds, water and salt in the blender. Blast for 60 seconds or until seeds are pulverized. A high powered blender will give you the best results with a creamier milk that retains more of the hemp seeds. A regular blender is fine, the milk will be a bit grainy but so nutritious.
If you prefer it smoother or for baking, strain the milk by placing a jelly/nut milk bag, clean t-shirt or nylon hose over a jar or bowl. Pour the hemp milk into the bag slowly, gathering and twisting the bag and gently squeeze the hemp milk through the bag.

To sweeten or flavour your hemp milk, rinse your blender and pour milk back in. Add in your sweetener/flavours and blend again until frothy. Seal your jar and hemp milk will keep for 3 days in refrigerated.

Thank you for reading! Take care of you and yours❤

Sort:  

Hemp seeds are rich in two essential fatty acids, linoleic acid (omega-6) and alpha-linolenic acid (omega-3). They also contain gamma-linolenic acid, which has been linked with several health benefits.
I am sure this milk must be very nutritious and healthy.
Thanks for sharing!

kewl!
I never ever heard about this milk :)
natural is always better

Great post! It was illegal to consume hemp seed here in Australia until last year! Crazy hey. The excuse was the cops would have a hard time with roadside drug tests. What a joke! We could buy it in health food stores for cosmetic use. They are great in pretty much everything! I love them with strawberries and yoghurt. I have to try this recipe! Thank you!

Woah! That is craziness!! Cosmetic would still absorb through the skin, no? I am glad it isn't illegal now:) they are so good for you! I love them on yogurt as well!

I'm not sure about skin absorption. I just ate them any way.

Yummm, need to restock my hemp! Have you ever tried fermenting your nut/seed milks? Adds a whole new level of good-for-youness!

I have not!! I just started reading up on how amazing it is for you....do you know how to??

Oh yeah. I use kefir grains. Do you have kefir grains? I will send you some of not. Perhaps I'll do a post tomorrow on fermented milks :)

I'm all about the hemp seeds! I'm really into homemade coconut milk, made with organic shredded coconut and warm water. It's so super delicious. I'm going to post my recipe soon. :)

Ooohhh I cannot wait to see it! I would love to try that:)

Yesss, it's so easy and delicious

Now that is totally thinking outside the box. I wish we could get Pink Himalayan salt in my area. I know I can get the celtic salt. I absolutely just cut and pasted this recipe to my food folder on my desktop, and I am going to share this with my daughter. She is a total health food nut. @pinebug

Haha that is awesome! I hope you two try it out...it is so easy and good. If you have one of those Ninja blenders I don't even think you'd need to strain it!! I could mail you some pink salt...

Wow! It sounds great, I will have to try it.
Thanks

Heya!!! I will bring you some!!

Thank you. I've got hemp oil which should not be used for cooking. But I'll now look for the hemp seeds and try this. Our local natural store must surely have them.

I am sure they will! I hope you try it <3

Thanks for sharing! As I am transitioning to a vegan diet this will come in handy! Also, is that honey and garlic in the background? this is one of my favorite wintertime health aids. that and honey slices in lemon is one of my other favorites to help prevent colds and the flu bug.

Yes honey garlic and acv! Can't live without it haha:)
Way to go with transitioning to vegan <3 I have been thinking about it the last year or so. You reminded me to start a new lemon in honey jar, thank you!

LOL glad to be of assistance. I have never added the ACV to the honey and garlic before! I usually consume 1 to 3 TBSP of ACV a day though so I get plenty of that in my diet. I have got to where I love it in a warm tea like concoction I came up with.
I mix 1 TBSP ACV, lemon juice (usually half a lemon) and about 1inch of fresh grated ginger root to a pint jar of warm water. I drink this every morning upon waking and usually one or two more times throughout the day before a main meal. It took me a while to get used to the tart taste but now I LOVE it.
I ate vegan a few years ago as dare from one of my employers. Needless to say I ended up losing like 92 pounds in the six months and felt amazing. I gravitated back towards a conventional diet as I have a family who still consumes meat on a regular basis. For me, its more about the heath benefits and sustainable practice that make a vegan diet so appealing to me.

OMGosh!!!! This is beyond awesome! Beyond great!

I never knew you could make this! Never even heard of it!

I have definitely bookmarked this post.
Just gotta find me some hemp seeds!

It is soooooo good for you and inexpensive this way! I can't wait to hear what you think when you make it!

Where can I buy hemp seed? I've been looking online and there are so many different ones. Of course Id like the most organic and best. Any recommendations?

Raw, hulless, organic are your best bet. We get ours at a no waste grocery store, I cannot remember the brand but the grocery store uses it for their milk as well. Did you find any on-line?

I live in Zimbabwe and seeds are everywhere and very cheap like, US$1/kg and I can bet you hardly anyone makes hemp milk! Thank you for the very simple and practical recipes, I am recommending it to a lot of people who need it. Why did you prefer those particular kinds of salt, can i just use normal table salt?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71