You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Parenting Outside Of Your Home Country | Raising Twins Overseas

in #healthy-home6 years ago

Yes, a #healthy-home is never ever as we plan it. Gotta roll with the punches(whatever that means!?).

I don't know why I'm okay with it.... But I am much more comfortable, than many others, with trying tiny bits of new stuff with the little ones. A tiny bit of dragonfruit with their mashed carrots. Etc. Their guts are getting populated right now with the flora that will be with them for life(or until their first large antibiotic dose), so introducing tiny, tiny bits of a huge diversity of things can be good. And fermented foods..... Had I said that? Easy salt brine ferments can make foods easier to digest. Not sure of the natural wisdom though on introducing fermented foods to babies.... but since some cultures eat 90% fermented foods, I'm guessing it is ok.

And then local wisdom...Do you have any locals sharing their opinions with you on what's suitable for babies? Longan and lychee are both fruits that have fire(I think) in Chinese food practice. So they may not be good choices for babies.

Peace

Sort:  

Their guts are getting populated right now with the flora that will be with them for life(or until their first large antibiotic dose), so introducing tiny, tiny bits of a huge diversity of things can be good.

That's a good point. I feel like we have to make up for the two months they spent in the hospital getting injections, taking antibiotics, etc. So trying new things and watching them vomit or cry in pain has been really hard. And sometimes what one girl likes, the other can't handle.

As far as fermented foods, I agree! I was making kefir for awhile to help with their digestion. It's just a lot of work to keep up on. But I want to start again after we move. My sister also sent me fermented cod liver oil.

As far as local opinion, I'll have to ask our "stand-in" grandma what she thinks. The other moms I know here have widely different opinions (probably because of all the cultural background here), so sometimes asking is more confusing than helpful :P

Oh, and yes, we've been learning about "heaty" foods as they call them here :D

It truly is a unique experience. I can imagine the pain that comes when a new food gives them discomfort. And I am optimistic that this will begin to pass as their bodies and microbiology matures.

As always, virtual hugs and encouragment! I am so happy to be able to share in your experiences through your Posts.

Peace

I don’t think I conveyed it very well in my first response, but I really appreciate the virtual hugs and encouragement!! Sometimes when I write in pieces, I don’t end up communicating my feelings well. I’m sorry if it didn’t sound very friendly 😔

I am really encouraged to keep trying new things. Like you said, it’s helping their tummies develop!

It’s been a huge relief knowing that the fussiness earlier this week probably wasn’t food-related but because of what they’ve got now (which I think is HFM). 😔

Thanks for being part of our journey! We’ve got a “virtual village” helping us out! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44