What, when, how and other questions/answers about MUSCLE SORENESS (DOMS)

in #health6 years ago
If you ever tried exercising and either pushed yourself to your limits or exercised after a long period of avoiding exercise, you are familiar with the fact that your muscles went rogue on you after. Maybe you had troubles lifting a glass or brushing your teeth and maybe every step you took was incredibly painful. This happened because of DOMS - delayed onset muscle soreness.

It can happen to anyone

Yes it can. It really can happen to anyone, from professional athletes to us regular people and even children. It is good to be educated about this issue and know what to do when it happens to you or someone you know. I hope this post helps you to learn everything you need in order to deal with this problem that happens more often than you realize.

As some of you know, I started running almost two weeks ago and up to now everything was going fine. For the last two days, I was not able to run, I was not even able to walk. Why? Because my legs refused cooperation and hurt like hell. I went for a run in the forest on an uphill terrain. I thought I was ready for it but guess what, I was not. Lesson learned. After my muscles get better I will stick to flat terrain from now on.

Many people think that delayed onset muscle soreness is caused by lactic acid. That is not true. When we exercise, our cells naturally become more acidic which makes our muscles feel like they're burning but that is not because of lactate. Lactate is a by-product of the metabolic process and it slows down the rate at which the cells become acidic.

So, lactate is actually a good thing, do not blame it for everything. DOMS is the result of microtrauma in the muscles and surrounding connective tissues. That trauma causes inflammation. DOMS occurs 6 to 8 hours after exercise. It is at its peak around 24 to 48 hours after training and it lasts between 3 and 5 days.

Be patient,
the pain will go away.

Nothing lasts forever and neither does DOMS. There are ways you can help yourself deal with the pain until it goes away but the best answer to your troubles is to give them time and accept that your body will heal itself.

Do not think that when you get extra fit how DOMS will be behind you forever. It won't. Even people who have been exercising for years can develop DOMS. You will feel less pain as your body adapts to your workouts but if you change your exercise routine or increase the duration or intensity chances are that DOMS will be back and it will be back with a vengeance. Since part of exercising is increasing duration or intensity, will we ever be free od DOMS? No, not really. That is why everyone can get it but it does have something to with your genes too because not all are affected by it the same way. You can avoid it by not doing drastic changes in your exercise plan and change your workout gradually.

Muscle damage can be a bad thing but it can also be a good thing too. It all depends if you are dealing with a serious injury or just DOMS. DOMS is not a serious injury, it does hurt a lot but it actually has some good side effects. Our muscles can grow in 3 different ways; tension, stress or damage. Yes, it does say damage. DOMS is not the only way you can build muscles and you do not have to have it in order to be more fit but it is one way to do it. A painful way but still a way.

When muscles repair themselves, they get larger and stronger than before and a certain amount of muscle trauma is needed to stimulate growth. Our body wants to heal itself all the time and when we experience DOMS, our muscles "want" to get bigger so they do not experience that pain again. This is why when you once get DOMS from a certain duration or intensity, you will not get it again as long as you do not change something again.

There is absolutely no evidence that stretching will prevent DOMS but since stretching will prevent more serious injuries you should ALWAYS stretch before and after an exercise. The only way to prevent DOMS is to gradually change your activity. Allow your muscles time to adapt to new movements and regime and avoid shocking your body.

Once you do get DOMS, there are ways for you to help yourself. The best thing, of course, is to rest but painkillers help too LOL. You can also get a massage or use hot-cold treatments on areas that hurt. Be careful and know when to see a doctor. If your pain does not go away after 5 days, becomes constant (if you are at rest there is no DOMS) and you feel it even when you are still and doing nothing or your urine becomes dark and you experience heavy swelling of muscles SEEK MEDICAL ADVICE.

Until next time,
KEEP YOUR SMILE ON
&
ENJOY YOUR EXERCISE!

Check these resources for more:

Image sources:
- cover image is from pngtree.com and royality free, you can check it out here
- clipart in my titles is from pngtree.com and royality free, you can check it out here
- arm with muscles is from fitness-science and you can find it here
- man with leg pain is from mobiefit.com and you can find it here
- Keep calm image is from crossfitlatina and you can find it here
- stretching woman is from pixabay and you can see it here

PROUD MEMBER OF:


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

After my first marathon, the next day I could hardly move; took weeks to get back to normal...

The first Marathon runner collapsed and died on the spot. Has anyone considered that this little fact may be trying to tell you something?

lololol, maybe... maybe... :D

Nice, I love short and spot on information. I found for myself that stretching is a must after every workout because my muscles are less sore and I feel rejuvenated..but of course DOMS are unavoidable and I like them. They are reminder that I am actually working out. 😂

Yeah, I tell myself that too but I hate when I can not move and miss an exercise because of DOMS :)

Nice information, thanks for sharing.... I don't do exercise because I can't stand the pain after it, lol.

The pain goes away, it always does :D

Hahaha.... You're right tho

if u want to make an omelette you godda break some eggs .. lol.. Enjoy the running!

Yup, that is true :D Thank you 💚

Cheers for sharing this, gently, gently getting back into moving these amazing bodies 💚

Always gently, our bodies really do not handle change very good :)

Oh i know the feeling. It is helpful to know why though. Thanks for the info.

I am glad you found it interesting 💚


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

It does hurt, not that much but it is far better without it. It takes time to get rid of the tension as well ( like... never lol) , the best results ( well, for reshaping anyways) is to exercise hard every second day for some time ( but stretch every day is the best) and after a while you will be without some major cramps. I am sure you are doing splendid and that the results are already visible.

Well, results are still not visible because my body hates me :D If I exercise for ten days I get nothing in return but if I eat one piece of chocolate, I can see it materializing at my butt. Genes... I hate my genes :D

I Have bene through that pain back when I was training a lot but never knew about it thanks for this informative post

It was my pleasure to write it, I am glad you enjoyed it 💚

If you ever tried exercising and either pushed yourself to your limits or exercised after a long period of avoiding exercise

AKA, me the first week after I started squatting. I knew what they were, but not what they felt like. Thanks for the physiological insights, too.

I am happy you enjoyed the read, thank you for your lovely comment 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.77
ETH 3368.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47