Mirror, mirror on the wall which is the most effective weight loss diet of them allsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

In my previous post, I mentioned that there are about 20,000 different weight loss diet's books, and I promised to give you a tip on how to choose the best one.

Success in weight loss

The best diet is the one that will bring you success.
Success in weight loss is not just losing weight.
Success is a long-term weight loss in a healthy way.

One diet does not fit all

All evidence shows that 90% of diets end in failure.
Many see this fact in a negative view, that diets don't work.
However, it can be viewed differently: If 90% fail on a certain diet, it means that the 10% using the same diet will succeed.
So stop searching for the "one diet fits all" and starts searching for the diet that fits you the best.

Which diet fits you the best?

  1. The one you can lose weight and stick to it as long as you want to lose weight.
  2. It's the one that fits best into your lifestyle.
  3. The one that meets your personal food preferences, requirements, and keeps you happy, healthy and satisfied.

It backed up by science

Read this scientific article of researchers who reviewed the efficiency of many different diets and concluded that "Everything is relative, and the best diet ultimately is the one you can stick to long enough to achieve the weight loss goals that you desire ..."

What do you think? Do you believe a "one diet fits all" exists?

Image source: link

Sort:  

Good advice and I like the point you make about finding the one that works for you. I think a lot of times we look at what works for someone else and think it's too hard and it discourages us before we even start. I love junk food but I know it's not good for me so for the moment, I'm just starting with reducing it instead of cutting it out completely. And in the process, I'm replacing the junk snacking with snacking on more wholesome food like fruit or vege. And that's working so far.

I think that a macro based diet definitely is more efficient and viable for the knowledgable person, but for the general public I would say that diets like weight watchers can have a great impact as it makes it very user friendly.

I still believe that if used correctly the macronutrient counting based diet has the potential to be the most impactful.

I personally don't think counting macro fits my lifestyle.
Its effective - true, but for how long a person can keep on counting what he eats?
counting macros just put away the fun from eating.

I believe that changing your lifestyle is what it takes in order to lose and maintain your lower weight. Going on a diet or doing something that you wont be able to for a longer period will only end up gaining all your lost weight + some more. Changes can be, eating healthier or workning our more etc.

That's a common belief.
But reality shows that advising people to change their diets to a strict one and work out more doesn't yield the desired results for 100% of the people (for some of them it's effective).
What I meant is that if you like sugar in your food, don't eliminate it from your menu, reduce it.
If you like carbs, don't be on a low carb diet just because you are convinced its effective.
And it is fine if it convenient for you to skip breakfast, despite the common tip of "don't skip breakfast".
And if you don't like running on a treadmill, don't waste your valuable time sweating in the gym, go out for a long trek on the weekends with your family or play a physical game with your kids.

That is the meaning of adjusting a weight loss regime to your lifestyle

Yes we are talking about the same thing! =) I thought I descirbed it good enough, but you described it even better. I agree 100% with what you just said =).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42