100 PUSH UPS A DAY - Is it Sustainable?

in #health6 years ago (edited)

push-up_illustration1.jpg

One of the most underrated benefits of doing push ups is the stretch it provides to your biceps and back muscles. As you lower yourself to the floor, your back muscles are effectively stretched, and as you push yourself to the starting position your biceps obtain a full stretch.

10 Massive Benefits of Push Ups

Push ups are tremendously supportive for physical well being. Recently I've been giving attention to push ups. It kind of spiraled out from my focus on isometric exercises as part of the physio process in rehabbing my knee. I got a new acl put in a few weeks ago. Since then I've been treating this as an opportunity to heal and strength train my body. I've really gotten into it thus far - getting interested in exploring what is possible with regards to strength training my body by really tuning into it and expanding my awareness of myself movement as Breath.

Yesterday was the first day in which I placed in a structure and goal. The structure being 100 push ups a day. Push ups can be done all in one go or spread out throughout the day. With where my current fitness levels are at...this is a pretty solid challenge.

I could barely do the last bunch of pushups yesterday. Today I woke up feeling like, "holly shit"...."my muscles are alive"

I thought about lowering the starting point number. Thinking I could make a more gradual easing into this. like scaling my progress more. However - I haven't really challenged myself on the 100 a day for any length of time...so i'm not ready to deviate from the script.

I'm also placing an emphasis on quality over quantity. Meaning the pace of movement, I am deliberately slowing down to work on quality form. Within this I've been mixing in some isometric exercises.

Game theory Outlook:

It's possible I will get to a point where I've exerted my muscles quite a lot and things are sore and I feel like I can't do any pushups...Like doing more than one is a real effort. I've considered this as a real possibility after a few days of getting into this new routine. However - my thinking is that at my very worst - I should be able to do 100 pushups throughout the day - even if I have to do 100 reps of 1. That would be killer set. lol. I mean anytime you are working out at a max out....that's real cool. There's some real pushing going on.

So - that's where I am at with things.

My plan is to write about the journey for the next month as a way to kind of zoom in on my investigations and to substantiate my progress.

Cheers.

To Be Continued - Ongoing

CHEERS TO EXTRAORDINARY GAINS OF STRENGTH IN ALL WAYS POSSIBLE THROUGHOUT 2018

if you like this post steemit.jpg

FREE - UNIVERSAL BASIC INCOME - WEEKLY CRYPTOCURRENCY PAYOUT

manna-banner.jpg

MANNABASE

Sort:  

if you do 100 pushups a day then you are the healthiest person. it requires a lot of stamina and energy...

I did a 30 day push up challenge about 12 months ago. A really cool challenge. The best tips I have for you is yes, do 5 sets or 4 sets throughout the day and count down (19, 18 etc.), not up (1,2, etc) is makes it more bearable as you get to set 4/5. After 30 days, I saw some changes in my chest/arms, but I felt a whole lot stronger.

Rather you reach your goal or not, the is consistency, meaning push-up or work out regularly...say 2-4 times each week....and incorporate Cardio too..I hate cardio so I jump rope instead.

This is interesting. I’ve heard of the 100 press up challenge but this starts off lower and builds you up to 100. I haven’t heard of doing 100 a day in as many sittings as required. I’ll be interested to see how it pans out.

"it's possible I will get to a point where I've exerted my muscles quite a lot and things are sore and I feel like I can't do any pushups...Like doing more than one is a real effort.

Sometimes rest is best:) It's in your sleep your muscles recover/grow. Just dont rest for more then 48 hours.

Goodluck

I just moved back into an area that has a gym, but Im going to start with 100 a day... starting today. thanks for posting!

I have tried this for a month and it is not easy! haha I think the small sets at the beginning of the challenge is a great idea. Don't let your muscle completely fatigue in any one set (as in don't go max out and see what happens) haha. You body will have a really hard time recovering, especially if push ups are something you aren't used to doing in volume sets. Start with small sets and stop when you feel fresh. It will help you feel good about every set that you do and you wont be as sore the next day! :)

Good luck! I can't wait to hear how it goes!

hey thanks for the support - definitely needed :)

Cheers and Thanks

ho my god 100 PUSH UPS A DAY is certainly possible but it is a tough job.

definitely -

fun for sure :)

What you feel difficult to complete today, one day you will be doing the same things as a warm up😀
I can do only 25 push-ups hardly but I am also trying day by day to drive up the number🙂

that's too much for the day lol i can't even do one properly

Nice blog, following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85