Healthy2018 - Morning ritual, animal breakfasts/supplements & holisitic health tips

in #health7 years ago (edited)

I unintentionally joined this contest #Healthy2018 before finding out about it haha! I call these happenstances collective consciousness moments of which I've experienced numerous today! I'm just entering this contest for the fun of it and to inform others of it, don't really want to 'win' :P But anyhow... Becoming a healthier me begins with my choices at the start of each day. Tea & smoothies. Relaxing music and spiritual seminars. Providing quality nutrition to my animals who reflect on my state of being. ie: If one is sick I feel it. Prevention is key! I have been dealing with a heavy loss from a couple months back and to get myself back on track I need to make well being a top priority so I may return to my rainbowy self. So far it's working! Spending time on Steemit is also doing wonders for me! I am sooo grateful to have been bestowed the honor of being both a Steward of Terra Mater & Steward of Gondor. It has given me the encouragement & drive to focus most my time here so that I may enrich this community as it does me. Pay it forward! Thankyou SO much @wwf & @fulltimegeeks for your generosity <3 Truly blessed.

The goats get soaked grains - a mixture of oats, barley, buckwheat, BOSS (black oil sunflower seeds), pumpkin seeds, alfalfa pellets and goat text. I also add ACV (apple cider vinegar) - 1 tbsp per 100lbs body weight and DE (diatomaceous earth) - 1 tbsp per 50 lbs body weight. This discourages parasites like worms and gives them shiny coats. I add turmeric as well. - 1tsp turmeric 1/8tsp pepper per 100lbs body weight unless they have an infection then twice or thrice that much. Turmeric for animals can help control inflammation, pain in itchy skin conditions like allergy, arthritis, infections & various cancers. I soak the grain mixture in hot water because otherwise it will expand in their stomachs. It also makes it smell nice and I imagine they enjoy the warm food on winter days such as these.

IMG_20180105_105021[1].jpg

IMG_20180105_094407[1].jpg

The dogs & cat get raw food also with ACV, DE & turmeric (same ratio as goats) I have noticed a huge difference in feeding raw. They have more energy and their coats are healthy. Also at one point I had a flea problem and ever since introducing the ACV/DE they went away never to be seen again! I store the raw food in the freezer and take out to thaw the night before. They come in 1/2 lb patties and you feed 1 patty per 25 lbs body weight.

IMG_20180105_110746[1].jpg

My cabinet of supplements (the spray bottle contains magnesium oil) I use about 10 squirts and rub on my arms/legs for trans-dermal absorption. Humans tend to be deficient in magnesium as it's been depleted from the soil and particularly lacking in our western diets. but it's very important as the 4th most abundant mineral in the body as well as being an electrolyte. I know to use it whenever I'm craving chocolate (which is quite often when I'm not using the spray) but try to use it every day with my ritual.

DSCN3786.JPG

Sometimes I prepare capsules to take the supplements, but most the time I just put them in my smoothie. This one has mixed berries, vanilla yogurt, banana, juice, spirulina & bee pollen (can't wait to be using my own bee's pollen/honey, it actually helps with allergies to consume local pollen/honey) Fun fact: Raw honey is very useful as a topical for infections!

IMG_20180105_113030.jpg

YUM!

IMG_20180105_113325[1].jpg

I tend to start my best days listening to calming video game music such as this - I ADORE the final fantasy series
Fun fact: I first played FF7 when I was 7 yrs old in 1997 and 8 and 9 followed in the same manner.

Also LOVE chaibaba teas!! ... and rainbowdash! - Tea first with music whilst preparing animal breakfasts and smoothie after

IMG_20180105_094627[1].jpg

I also enjoy listening to spiritual teachers such as Eckhart Tolle lately while I consume my smoothie. Or I just read. I quite like Elephant Journal these days.

I hope you enjoyed this entry! There are other things I would like to add that I use for the animals such as...

Baking Soda - it’s a good idea to keep a small bucket of baking soda available to your goats. When a goat’s stomach becomes too acidic they will instinctually consume an alkaline substance like baking soda to restore the balance and keep from becoming sick. Baking soda does not taste good and they won't over do it so not to worry about that!

The best water buckets I've found are coolers. The water stays cool in the summer and freezes less in the winter. When it's cold, I fill mine with warm water and sit it in a pile of straw and it's less likely to freeze that way. This is helpful because I have to carry water down to them until next year when I setup a tote in the barn (Going to utilize the propane heater that heats the goat shelter to also prevent the water from freezing!)

Other applications for DE - Mix with ash and soil to make dusting baths for chickens. dust plants with aphids, mix with straw in nesting boxes prevent mites, 2% or less in feeds, treats tapeworm in 4 days.

In the warmer seasons a great way to prevent heartworms (which can only be passed on via mosquitoes) is to keep them from biting your dog. By spraying a mixture of geranium and lemongrass oils you can go a long way in preventing heartworms. This is the mixture I use:
Mix 2 Tbsp of witch hazel with 2 Tbsp of olive or coconut oil as the base.
Add 50 drops each of geranium oil and lemongrass oil to the base.
Place in a container with a spray handle.
You just want be sure to keep the total percentage of essential oils under 15% for safety.
Both of these oils repel fleas, ticks, biting flies and mosquitoes. Used in combination they are extremely effective at keeping mosquitoes off of your dog and you! Do NOT use rose geranium oil on your cat, though. Nor pregnant animals. Cats are very sensitive to essential oils!!!

I am quite pleased to exclaim that asides from the fleas I have never dealt with parasites in my animals, and as for everything else only Spirit doggo has had any health issues. Which is how I learned that in some cases vet clinics are useless and extremely over priced. One time she had an ear infection that cost me 200$ and the next time she got one I treated it simply by switching to the raw food. Colloidal silver is also helpful. She has also had mange at one point. They wanted 70$ just for the exam and wouldn't give me medicine without it even though I knew what she had. I ended up treating it for 8$ using a borax & peroxide wash once a week for just two weeks and it went away.

That's all for now! Happy Steeming <3

Sort:  

Woah I didnt even know your feeding was so fancy. I really gotta set up my chicken feeding game :P

I think I need some of that magnesium stuff, where get it?

I don't have much going on in the way of feeding the chickens as I haven't had them very long. but I figure spending double on the organic feed is enough haha, do share any ideas you come across though ^_^ I ordered magnesium flakes and made the oil. I can totally make you some, just find a bottle for me to put it in. I had given a small blue bottle of it to Mel, it may still be in the bathroom :P

Heck yeah I totally need that I know it.

I figure it will be easier to start improving their diet in the summertime, even though it is now they need it most. I hope we get a worm farm started for mealworms and earthworms cuz apparently they like mealworms and I just like earthworms lol.

I resteemed a post today about fermenting the food, I think that's something we should try! Also learned it's good for the goats will post a link i was reading about it below. It's certainly a good plan if we're going to have aquaponics in the near future ;) fish food too! I used to breed mealworms for my reptiles/gliders back in the day it's super easy. Kingworms are even better though or better yet cockroaches lol those pack the most protein of any!

http://lifeatmennageriefarm.blogspot.ca/2013/03/fermented-grain-old-timers-secret.html

woah yeah lets grow worms lol, idk why I like them so much, they so sqiggly and slimy and make good soil. We should def try that fermenting buisness, haha id trade kombucha for some, i really gotta get making it soon!

It's amazing how many nutrients are in the raw foods. By cooking them we destroy lots of them. Your animals must be very happy and healthy. :-) Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge and experience!

Holy great post!! Had to read it twice!!
Love the cooler idea in the straw!
What kind of propane heater are you looking at? I thought about it, but terrified of a fire.
Thank you for sharing!!

Thankyou! Tis my pleasure ^_^ Trying to be as informative with my personal experience as possible. In an earlier post I show the box the heater is in and the type of heater (mr. buddy) it's been a few days now and so far it's working great and doesn't get too hot/allow flammable things near it. I'll admit it does still concern me a bit despite measures taken & everything going well but having the baby get sick or worse concerns me more. I'll likely stop using it once she is 2 wks old and has a better handle on life, so long as it doesn't get any colder than -10 (they do heat such a small space quite well with their body heat alone) but it will be neat to apply it to the water tote in the future; more efficient use.

My friend @wisewoof this is awesome... Many information in one post.. I need a lot of time to understand everything. Oh, thank you.

Wow. What a ritual. Nice infos sprincled across the whole article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50