Healthy Food #4 Healthy Salad + How-to guide to Choose and Preserve Avocados

in #health7 years ago

Hello Steemians! It's me again on my Healthy Food Series! This year 2018, eating healthy is my

New Year, New Resolution!

Today's dinner is a bowl of healthy salad (without dressings) - lettuce, Japanese cucumber, cherry tomatoes, strawberry, and superfood, avocado!

Why Salad?

It's a cook-free meal packed with fiber, multivitamins and micronutrients that a human body need. The best of all, it took me 5 minutes to prepare for 2 person. Salad is the way for busy people who wants to consume enough nutrients and save time.

Why Do I Made It Myself?

One reason, it's dirt cheap. Less than 2USD per meal.
Nowadays it is very difficult to find a delicious and affordable salad. I used to visit Chai Bar and Salad Bar. Unfortunately, two of them were closed recently. I seldom visit franchises such as T.G.I.F or Chili's because their salad is overpriced.

That's Why I Cook For Myself

I can choose my favourite veggie and toppings for my entire week! (FYI, I can eat one thing for one week). Usually it would cost me about 5 to 10 USD depending on the ingredients. For example, this week I bought strawberry and it is about 3 USD for a big pack.

But, some fruits may be tricky to choose. Avocado is one of them.

How to choose a good avocado and preserve it?

A good avocado shouldn't be neither too ripe nor too raw. I will include a practical guide to choose and preserve. This guide is meant 4 days of avocados. You'll know why 4 days.

1. Color

When it's raw, most avocado species is light green or grass green. Best to consume within 3 - 4 days. If you want to eat later, store them in refrigerator for another 3 days.
When it's ripe, it's dark green or dark brown. Best to consume within the day.

Exceptions: Some species is ripe but is still green, so the second guide comes handy.

2. Hardness

Give it a quick squeeze (but not too hard).
When it's raw, most species is hard. When it's ripe, mostly are soft.

3. Taste

This is the final stage of knowing a good avocado.
When it's raw, it's bitter. When it's ripe, it's almost tasteless.

I can't finish an avocado in a meal, can I keep for tomorrow?

Yes, of course. The trick is really simple. Get a lemon.
Avocado easily oxidize when exposed to air and nutrients are lost as well. So, eat avocado when it's still packed with monosaturated fats which is good for our body.

Ingredients:

  1. A lemon
  2. A Container
  3. A knife

Method:

  1. Cut the lemon in half
  2. Squeeze the lemon juice on the avocado flesh
  3. Store the avocado and the other half of the lemon together in a container and seal it
  4. Store them in a refrigerator

Caution: Use only once. Oxidisation can only be delayed once.

That's all for today Healthy Food Series! If you have better suggestions, comment below, resteem and upvote!


Sort:  

Super healthy. Really loving the colours of fresh fruit and salad.

Thank you @lindale, hope you like it & Happy Chinese New Year! :)

You are doing good, keep it up! I like it!

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Do you make your own guacamole?

I did not know that the ascorbic acid trick worked on avocados, it also works on apples to keep them from browning. I also just learned that the word ascorbic is not in my browsers spell check dictionary, which I find odd.

Yea, apparently it works on avocados too. I just google around and find the solution and I'm happy to share it with other Steemian. I'm so glad it helps you too.
I plan to do guacamole on my own but not so soon, maybe a few months later. It has been on my bucket list for quite a while.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36