Cold Showers

in #health8 years ago (edited)

  So i have begun a little experiment after doing some research on the benefits of cold showers. This was prompted by a lot of years in competitive sports and currently still going on 12 years of Jiu Jitsu. Body has taken an absolute hammering so i thought why not lets give this a go. Picked a brilliant time also as its winter here. Wife now thinks i have gone completely mental then previously thought.

 First day : upon the glorious wake up at 6 am and internal battle of having to go to work i had the "its cold shower time" thought cross my mind. As you can imagine this made me completely not want to move but i gathered the might got up and headed towards my awaiting doom. 

So i jump in already cold and turn on the tap full bolt, cold water only. Just standing there i can feel the cold water air slicing though me. 

The though of "you idiot"crosses my mind several times. Competitive nature kicks in and i say on 3 walk forward ,20 or so 3 counts later i step in.

 Now the INSTA shock you can imagine as I'm sure a lot of people have had the pleasure of a cold shower. I don't think i have sworn at my self that many times in a row. Still within 20 sec it got comfortable. Stepped back soaped up and went back in again. Another rush followed and it was over. Stepped out dried up and surprise surprise no longer cold at all and felt very fresh as you can imagine. long story short its now been 3 weeks and its still going. Wife still thinks i am mental and a few of my friends have now taken her views as i have been trying to tell people to do it. i can honestly say that : 

* my mood has improved 

 * general alertness and energy levels through the day are higher 

* skin feels and looks fresher  

* sleep is incredible  

* muscle recovery has significantly improved

* water saving 

 So far these have been the most noticeable effects with the one negative 

 * my nuts still refuse to talk to me :(

 Has anyone in here done this or is doing this on purpose ? would like to hear some stories and hoping for some positive effects.

I am aware of the Wim Hof method also which i will be trialing soon  

let me know Steemit peps any insight will be good to hear .

Cheers

Sort:  

Yes, but not the shower! Just the feet.. There is some good research on this about improving circulation. I'll give it a try, thanks...

i suggest to ease into it maybe start with warm showers and in the last minute introduce cold. I can honestly say that in a strange way my body now craves cold water. my sleep improving was the biggest plus for me. Let me know how you go and hopefully its not winter your way.

This is fascinating. I have also wondered the same with the cryotherapy trend. Maybe you could get into a regular shower and gradually turn it all the way cold, instead of shocking your system!? lol. For me I have bad muscle spasms, heat doesn't work, I think cold might.

haha yeah gradual would be the smart thing to do, I went all in straight up ,try it out hope the muscle spasms ease.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45