Nutrihack : Frozen fruits & Veggies, who would have known?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2332.JPG

Super busy? Wanting to eat healthy you buy fresh fruit and vegetables only to end up tossing them in the bin because they've gone bad before you have had a chance to eat them? Or because all of a sudden you need to travel? Or just as scary buying what you thought was fresh broccoli but it stays unnaturally "fresh" for ages due to whatever frankenstein chemicals it has been processed with?

I live alone and am frequently travelling. To make matters more challenging, the country where I live, Switzerland has rules that prevent most shops from being open past 6:30pm (except Thursday nights when they are allowed to stay open a bit later.) And you can also forget about shopping on Sunday. So if you work or travel for most of the day and find yourself getting home at 7pm or later, going shopping to find fresh food is next to impossible.

I was discussing this with my counterpart Wandering Mind not too long ago and he looked at me like I had three heads and said - "Geeze, don't you know about frozen fruits and vegetables? They usually pick the highest quality fruit and vegetables just at their perfect peak of ripeness and nutritional value just before they freeze them."

This was something that in fact I did not know. So I decided to check it out for myself. It turns out that while some nutritional value can be lost in freezing, frozen fruits and veggies can actually sometimes be higher in nutritional value and quality than the "fresh" fruit imported and transported for days from some other state or country.

https://authoritynutrition.com/fresh-vs-frozen-fruit-and-vegetables/

My favorite items so far are frozen blueberries. Just mix them in a blender with a bannana and some water or milk and you get a healthy, refreshing smoothie. I have also started buying and eating frozen broccoli, brussel sprouts and peas. The quality has always been impeccable. Of the three I prefer the frozen peas for some reason.

Anyway sounds like a small thing, but this has been a great incremental improvement on my path to healthy eating and cutting down on processed foods. Thought it was worth sharing .

Sort:  

Sounds delicious and like a great healthy meal for in between.

I recently wrote a post about the healing properties of Stinging Nettle. Maybe you enjoy reading it. (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

thanks for sharing that.

I am used to get some veggies for the fridge. But you're right, why not have a variety of them for eating non-processed.

often it's the simple ideas hard to find!

regards from Berlin

This post has received a 1.52 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @wanderingmind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75