The day when I was bitten by the Aedes aegipty mosquito. Warning: graphic content and blockchain mention.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

It was a hot day in the office, I felt a bitten in the ankle and soon the itch started. I heard a buzz and instinctively clapped the hands in the sound's direction and saw this fallen body, shattered and bloody.

Looking closer and carefully the insect body parts I realised from the evidences (letter a), striped paws, that it was an genuine member of the famous and feared mosquito species Aedes aegipty. You can check the original picture in a larger size in Flickr.

With the suspicious that the mosquito was infected and possibly transmitted to my veins the dengue, zika or chikungunya virus, one coincidence made it more impressive to me: in that day I just had my blood test.

A few hours earlier, before the mosquito agression, my ankle itchy and the assassination, in that same day - I kept the laboratory service protocol (evidence letter b) - my blood was being picked by an hypodermic injection. It's in portuguese (I live in Sao Paulo city, Brazil) but I would ask you to check the date, 1/11, a suggestive number, maybe a sign that I should be concerned too.

This incident shocked all coworkers here in the office, although we live in a tropical country constantly threatened by epidemics like dengue, they believed being safe inside the air conditioned 4th floor commercial building bubble.

In the day after we all had insect repellents provided by our small company and I started monitoring any eventual disease symptoms. But until now I didn' t feel nothing extraordinary except the mosquito corpse rested over the table as a souvenir. After all the ocurred originated this report now eternalized in the Steem blockchain.

Health + Blockchain

Beyond the financial sector the business analysts and technology gurus point that the healthcare system as one of the most promising sectors to adopt blockchain. The safety, invulnerability, immutability and descentralization would make feasible exams results, diagnosis and procedures historics, drugs track and even ocurrences records like this mosquito bit, transforming health professional and companies work in an easier and better way.


Original post in portuguese: O dia em que fui picado pelo mosquito Aedes aegipty. Alerta: fotos com cenas fortes e citação ao blockchain.

Suggested posts:
8/1/2017 - @steemcenterwiki: List of wiki collaborators with a right to receive a share of the STEEM collected in July
7/1/2017 - @blockchaincat: Stress relief
7/1/2017 - Growth idea: Social Media Independence Day on July 4th (#SMID). A Day to celebrate the joy of real life, tech freedom and Steemit first anniversary.
3/4/2017 - Steem and cryptocurrencies as a tool to implement and expand LETS (Local Exchange Trade System)
1/28/2017 - My suggestion to soften the annoying of @curie's repetitive posts
1/4/2017 - How my dog became famous on the internet because this picture of a pet bed made with recycled Mac monitor
1/2/2017 - Happy new years - I see steem everywhere!
12/16/2016 - DIY squeeze cooler for Pokemon Go's overheat smartphones
11/31/2016 - Steemit X Prize participation, my brainstorm ideas for promoting and marketing

Log on on Steemit and take rewards for your content too >>>

Sort:  

Beyond the financial sector the business analysts and technology gurus point that the healthcare system as one of the most promising sectors to adopt blockchain.

I've actually seen a lot of contrary information on this topic, as an ideal future perhaps, but there are some serious considerations that limit its short term interest. Many senior citizens wouldn't be able to properly use..they mismanage or lose their keys as well as the structure being so centralized its difficult to think the health industry is going to take what they may consider such a large risk right now collectively.

I've heard about some healthcare/blockchain projects funding by ICOs but I think mostly of them are from government and big industries like IBM and Phillips. Recently Forbes published an article about some initiatives: https://www.forbes.com/sites/reenitadas/2017/05/08/does-blockchain-have-a-place-in-healthcare/#454aa1781c31 Thanks and good luck again!

I'll give that link a look, didn't consider or really know about IBM getting involved with healthcare related blockchain applications.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63773.27
ETH 2738.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59