My Water Fast Day 0

in #health7 years ago (edited)

@vonschlick

This is day 0 of my journey in fasting

Here is a picture of me at about 180 lbs. (My heaviest). By the way I'm 5'9".

Image of me

I didn’t take a picture of how I look today (I forgot), but here is a recent picture of me (beginning of No-shave November) at around 158 lbs.

Image of me

For those interested on how I was able to lose 20 lbs. in about 3 months this is what I did:

• Rode my bike for 20-30 minutes 5-6 days a week average speed of around 13-16 mph.
• Reduced my soda consumption from 3-4 12oz. cans a day to 3-4 cans a month.
• Reduced my dairy consumption from a lot every day to some just once a week.
• Reduced my meat consumption from 7-8 times a week to once a week.
• Reduced my egg consumption from 3-4 a week to 1 every two weeks.
• Reduced the amount of oil we used to cook things.
• Reduced junk food like chips and ice cream from 6-7 times a week to 1-2 times a week.

I used to ride a road bike a lot before my illness, but now it is the only exercise I can to for very long without hurting my neck and back. By the way, 13-16 mph on a semi-flat rolling road is a pretty brisk pace for the average person (me). It’s fast enough that it is very hard to talk while riding.

Here is my introduceyourself post where I share a little more about myself and my plans.

What is a water fast?

I’ll go a little more in depth in tomorrow’s post, but basically you only drink water for a number of days (usually 3-11 days, but up to 30 or more) to try to heal your body of things like high blood pressure. If you want to know more you can check out these web pages:

TrueNorth Health Center

All About Fasting

Water Fasting Benefits

Technically my water fast doesn’t start until tomorrow, but I decided to prepare my body a day in advance, because my wife and I were out of town for the last two days, so by necessity we ate out a lot and by desire ate things we shouldn’t have, a lot.

For today I am doing a Juice Fast where I will only drink juice. The reason for the Juice Fast is to start getting my body ready for no food as well as giving my digestive system a rest from the overuse I gave on my trip. I hope that it will make the water fast easier. Once I finish the water fast my wife and I will start following the Dr. John McDougall starch diet which is vegan and found in his book, The Starch Solution.

Results

The day went well, I was able to do my normal activities with ease as well as repair my pond where my dogs chewed it up (We also installed a radio dog fence, so they cannot do it again). My energy level was good. I had some hunger pains by lunch time, but they somewhat subsided when I drank more juice, a lot of Juice. I drank mostly pomegranate-cranberry juice as well as some lemonade and orange juice. I got a little tired in the evening and went to bed a little earlier than I normally do.

My results for the day

Weight: 157.2 lbs

Body Fat: 17.9%

Muscle Mass: 37.6%

Water: 64%

Blood Pressure: 153/99

Pulse/minute: 114

For anybody interested these numbers came from a weight Gurus scale that links to my phone and a standard Samsung wrist blood pressure cuff.

Tomorrow I will share my experience of the first day on my water fast as well as results and pictures. Let me know if you notice any difference in my appearance.

Thanks!

You can find the Day 1 post here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61428.91
ETH 3382.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50