Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

I felt I had to reply to your comment about eating organic. This is my story. I have chronic Lyme disease, have had from childhood, untreated. In 1999, my husband had to stop working due to chronic illness, and I was a homeschooling mom and we had a small boarding stable. That year I got really sick in September. I'd had odd symptoms for decades, but things got drastically worse then.

We were on a single disability income. I had always been frugal, as we'd been on his single income for 10 years.

I've written a post about the rest of the story here:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@goldenoakfarm/a-2nd-intro-or-how-i-got-started-growing-my-own-food

But the take away is, for decades I said, we couldn't afford organic, but somehow we managed to start raising our own, and my life was forever changed. All thanks to a persistent person who cared.

Something to think about....Your story resonated with me...

Fabulous story - and I'm big on Weston A Price Foundation work. (Though I wish they'd update the text book/cookbook soon - with newer studies, etc. Everything they stand for is currently based on 20+ year-old studies.)

Until recently, I didn't even have wheels to get away from our apartment complex where we have only a small porch to have any plants on (which is currently occupied by two bikes.) But now, I have wheels, I should be able to do more. I will tap into the community and see if there are any community gardens that don't cost an outrageous amount to rent a vegetable plot from.

In any case, we should be at the top of the Section 8 waiting list any time now - we already know where we can live - a local trailer court, where we can, at least, have some raised beds. I will grow as much as we can then - especially green leafy vegetables which cost so much in the stores, yet I hate buying because we never seem to get through them before they go bad... so doubly expensive! If I'm growing them, I know I will eat more of them - and they will actually taste!

Of course, Wyoming soil isn't lovely like many parts of the country. Where we are was part of an ancient sea and the salts go deep into the soil. I think raised beds will be the only possibility.

Next spring/summer (spring here is late), I'll definitely be doing something in the dirt, but for now, I can only do what we can do. Sigh, I can't even have a fish tank here - so, aquaponics is out - even if I could spare the space in front of one of the windows (maybe 700-800 square feet for 4 people...) - which I simply can't yet.

They say where there's a will, there's a way. You will find the way, when the time is right!

Thats sounds a bit not coclusive .. I am not sure but if I were you I would take in a second opinion from another doctor in your case .. I wish you the best !

Yeah, I will see if I can make my next appointment with a different doctor - shop around a bit... though low income and without insurance, we are a bit spoilt for choice. (sarcasm) - but the place we go (sliding scale fees), there are other doctors - so maybe one of them will work better for me.

Food changed so much over the years I love your honesty in the blog weight is such a topic these last years

Thank you! I hope that some people will find companionship, hope and maybe even solutions within my journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71