The dentist is never fun, pain neither.....

in #health6 years ago


Source
Yesterday I went to the dentist because I had a terrible tootache. I didn't had a appointment but lucky me (duh) they have some spare time for celerity. When I arrived they had to point out which tooth caused the pain. And that wasn't that easy. I couldn't really tell which tooth it was so they run some tests.

  • A x-ray
    First of all a X-ray to see if there is a infection, but they could'nt see one. This was perhaps caused by the 2-dimmensional view and the infection could have been behind a tooth or somewere else (that's what they said)
  • Cold cotton ball on the teeth
    They kept a cotton ball in liquid nitrogine and kept it against the tooth. Although I felt something on all teeth (it's freezing cold) we couldn't isolate the aching tooth...
  • Hammer
    with a tiny hammer they hit on top and at the side of the tooth.
    Same as with the cold cotton ball, not really pointing out to a particular tooth.
  • bite on a stick
    They put a stick in my mouth on which I had to bite really hard, the pressure this generates would have "betray" the hurting tooth. But again with no succes.
  • Electrical pulses
    with a kind of electrical toothbrush (without the brush) they put electrical pulses through my teeth to see which nerve reacted and which not. It looked like they all reacted so there was again no sign of one particular tooth....

So the dentist asked if I had a cold recently because it could be my nasal cavity which pressed on my teeth. She was not sure what caused it. The last test she wanted to do was to drink warm water. If I reacted to that it was at least sure it were my tooth. So the assistent got me a glass of water and when I drank it, it was like I was hit in the face. It hurts like !@#$. So we were pretty sure it were my teeth...

But which one was it?!?! the next step was a root canal treatment so she better be sure which tooth to drill... :)

Because she was still doubting she asked a colleague to have a look. She did quite the same tests and couldn't point it out neither. She was a more experienced (longer on the job) dentist and I thought it was good of them to discuss their findings...

She advised to do nothing, I was a bit suprised but her arguments were good. She said that because it isn't absolute clear which tooth it is, there might be a risk (slightest) that the drill the wrong one. And if that happenend they still have to do the other too... I thought that made sense, I didn't really felt like going twice trough this treatment. I am not a dentist-addict ;) ..

So her advise was to let the infection be because It was quiet good possible that it will vanish by itself (nerves can recover) or, for me the least to looking forward too, it will grow and will gonna hurt more then it does now and it will be more easy to pinpoint the tooth that is the problem..

like I said it did made sense but I wasn't looking forward to it... So when I got home it was like if my teeth knew what the deal was and it started aching like !@@$.... I took some Ibuprofen and it saddled down a bit but it hurted massive...

So this morning I called the dentist again to discuss my findings after the visit yesterday, I am now certain it is the second tooth in the back. And they said I had to come in later this day for the root canal treatment.....

Funny thing now is that the pain is less at the moment, but I do think I will have that root canal because otherwise in a few weeks and it does come back, I am in Greece... Not looking forward to meet a dentist overthere :)

Have a great sunny day


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

Hope you get it sorted. Dentistry is a lot better than it used to be in terms of the pain you receive while they are treating you, but its still a place I tend to avoid unless absolutely necessary.

I hear you :) I had a root canal before, the pain is do-able but the preparation to it, and the idea is what gives me the shivers :)

Just Reading your blog makes me shiver! I was There a few weeks ago for a root canal and pain is not My game good luck

Well, while the anesthesia is in, you don't feel a lot anymore... But before that....haha it's no fun...

I stopped with dentists 15 years ago and now treat my own teeth holistically. no cavities, no toothaches and people are ALWAYS asking me where I get my teeth cleaned. Haha... I brush with activated charcoal and it is amazing. Your post was painful to even skim through!!

haha thanks, but with charcoal? Wow, never heard that one :)

I used to hate going to the dentist as well. I have been going to the same one for close to 30 years now though and he is really a great guy. In the past decade I have made a conscious effort to take better care of my teeth and that has made my visits much less painful. Good luck with your appointment. I wouldn't wish tooth pain on anyone.

Thanks very much...

Oh god I sympathise so much. I'm not scared of the doctors or anything, can get stitches and watch no problem, needles are fine - BUT DON'T GO NEAR MY MOUTH!! I hope it settles down soon - are you using clove oil?

Thank you very much :) I'm no hereo either when it comes to dentists (or doctors haha) .. I havent used clove oil? Will that help?

OMG!! YOu have to get some. It's the absolute remedy for toothpain - it can be yuck but it's awesome. If you don't have some, try sucking on a clove. This is copied straight from the net, but it'll save you searching:

When you use clove oil for toothache pain, it's the eugenol (an ingredient within clove oil) that provides relief. Eugenol is a natural anesthetic and antibacterial, and it works well at reducing inflammation in the mouth.

basically, it's the GO TO for toothpain babe, honestly, best stuff ever.

Ok, thanks I will give it a shot :) Thanks a lot !!

Oh, and @beaker303 is actually me, @riverflows - stupidly had hubby's account open on another tab, and posted as him. So you can thank ME for the advice lol, not @beaker303 that wouldn't know how to steem if it slapped him on the face, hahahaha!! xx

It's pretty pokey, so it'll make you salivate - but it does work. Sometimes dentists send you home with a cotton plug with clove oil on it to settle the tooth down before they do more so it's a well known remedy. Let me know how it works mate!

hahahaha Well thank you then ;)

Obviously they are experts and know thier jobs better than any one else. A good doctor alway suggest you the right thing.

Congratulations @verhp11! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39