You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vaccination & Corruption - A Steemit Survey!

in #health7 years ago (edited)

First of all I like how you are trying to stay neutral in all of this and are really opening a round for discussions.

Yes there probably is a lot of corruption in pharmaceutical industry... as is in ANY big industry.
Alternative medicine for example in my opinion mostly is just a lot of expensive placebo going on (even though I'm not denying that it can really help people).
There's a huge industry pushing organic products, as there is a huge industry wanting to sell their sugary junk.

Personally I really believe that vaccinations are one of the (if not THE) most important accomplishments of modern medicine today. Sicknesses that have killed millions of people througout centuries are nowadays so negligible in most industrial nations that people start wondering if they ever really meant any harm.

Just think about what would generate more profit for the pharmaceutical industry? A shot that costs maybe 100$ or a real sickness that could potentially make you stay in the hospital for weeks to go.

I haven't met a doctor yet who was trying to stop me from getting any vaccination. None of my friends or fellow students (many of whom have a doctor or even someone in the pharmaceutical industry as a parent) have not had their shots. It's one thing to consciously poison strangers for money, but who would ever do that to their own flesh and blood?

Concerning your question about herd immunity and tourists visiting Australia I believe even though there's not a obligation to have those shots, most of the tourists coming to your country probably are vaccinated. Anti-vaxxers are (in my opinion luckily) still a minority group in industrial nations and most people who are coming from a poorer country probably won't be able to afford a trip to Australia.

Sadly enough I really feel this is a luxury problem we seem to be able to afford nowadays. Since there aren't many people dieing from any of those ilnesses anymore people seem to forget they exist and can pose a real danger.

And as I said. There certainly is corruption in the pharmaceutical industry. Some firms are responsible for a lot of addiction and deaths that have happened for sure... but on the other side there's also a lot of people on the alternative side making profit of peoples fears and killing them by offering them a pseudotherapy. I just like to believe that most of the doctors, scientists, employees and self employed people are doing there best to safe or improve lifes and not to harm them.

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you for your reply! I believe we need a neutral place to discuss this spicy subject. =)

I believe the statistics I stated in my post about the almost 20 Billion of dollars of fines that the Pharmaceutical companies have had to pay for fraud in the last 13 years in the USA alone prove that corruption IS happening within our medical system.

As far as Herd Immunity is concerned with a tourist volume of almost 30% of Australia's population arriving as visitors in Australia each year - I have to say that I often enter Australia and see that people are arriving from all over the world. Australia has no information on the vaccination information on these people. If this was a significant problem then surely Australia would tighten its laws - currently I see huge pressure on Australia's internal population but no mention or consideration for the 8+ million people arriving into Australia each year. Once again I am not sure that the narrative we are being sold is the truth.

I study natural healing and I personally can vouch for the powerful nature of herbs. I grow them and use them on myself, my friends and family along with my animals. They work and are the foundation of all our traditional medicine.

Thank you again for your post your comments they were very interesting!

Upvoted and followed! =)

Thank you for your reply!

Upvoted and followed! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54349.85
ETH 2284.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32