I had my placenta encapsulated!

in #health7 years ago

Check out my placenta pills! 



I said in this post that I wasn't going to eat my placenta. I didn't cook it, chop it up and chew it, but I did change my mind and choose to swallow the capsules. 

When my daughter was born and the midwives were wrapping up the placenta, I decided I would never know unless I tried, especially since I didn't have the option with my first birth. So we stuck the placenta in the freezer until one of the midwives came to get it. She encapsulated it overnight! I have no idea how she does what she does, especially so fast, but it was awesome. 



I am now around two months postpartum and I took my last few pills today. It's going to be interesting to see if I feel a difference after a few days of not taking them!

I got a few hormonal headaches in the first few days of taking the pills, so I wasn't sure if they were causing them. I stopped taking them for a few days and still got a few headaches, so I realized they weren't the cause and resumed taking them. I do think they increased my milk supply when I initially started taking them. I don't know about whether or not they gave me energy or if it was more of a placebo effect, but it's possible they did. 



As far as helping my uterus to return its normal size, I'm not sure. I did start my periods already, sooner than last time, so maybe taking the pills was part of it. I do think that they possibly helped to restore my iron levels quickly, but I can't confirm that. And as far as stress-reducing, I can't really give a report on that either because I've never had two kids before, so I don't know if my stress level is normal or not! 

I healed so much faster after this birth than with my first, because I didn't have stitches and a breast infection this time, so it's hard to tell if they aided in my speedy recovery or not. I am glad that I tried, though, because if we would have buried the placenta like we had initially planned, I would have probably regretted not trying it. YOLO, right? :) 



Baby girl and I are super healthy and happy, so the placenta pills had no negative effects, but I can't prove any of the positive effects.


I tried it, I reaped whatever benefits the placenta had for my body, and I grossed my husband out. I'm happy. :D





Sort:  

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Nice post. I’m curious about this. My wife considered it but didn’t go through with it last time. Let us know if you notice any more benefits!

I think she should definitely try it this time! I was glad that I did. 😁

I heard it tastes like chicken looool
Chicken 🐔

Hahaha! I wouldn't know about that, but the pills definitely smelled weird and tasted super funky if they hit my tongue while swallowing. 😜

I had fun reading. Lol on the part "...and I grossed my husband out. I am happy"

Haha, I'm glad! 😁

Amaaaaaaaazing (y)
thanks for this woooonderful article.
@iarticle

and I grossed my husband out

I can confirm that this is a true statement...

😜😝😄😍😘

it is Amazing dear keep it up I folloew you and upvote you hope you also do sane for me thank you

So interesting!

I know, right? 😄

I just happen to be a Homebirth Midwife, I am retired now. I Love the coincidences that keep popping up for me on Steemit. I searched 'birth steemit' thinking I might find connections with others with interest in birth and beyond topics and you popped up This was after the ugly sweater contest!! Pretty cool coincidence don't you think? ;)

Absolutely! My dad would say he doesn't believe it coincidences; everything is meant to be! 😁
I had my daughter at home with two young midwives just a couple months ago!
How long did you practice midwifery? 😊

@uglysweater I concur w/ your Dad ;) I attended births for over 25 years, helped work on legislation to License Midwives in California and became a Licensed Midwife. I am retired now...as much as a Midwife can ever really retire. Midwifery is was a labor of Love for me and is a path I am so very grateful to have been allowed to travel <3

Thank you for choosing to be a midwife and for all your years of service to mamas and babies! ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57343.17
ETH 2341.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35