Placentas: beautiful grossness!

in #health7 years ago

source


The picture above is an example of a placenta print. I had never even heard of doing this before until I saw one at my midwife's office the other day. The one she had belonged to a gal that chose to not use paint. That's right, no paint means the print was just placenta blood on paper. I think placentas are great and I am all for natural stuff, but this actually turned my stomach. I won't be doing a placenta print after this baby is born. Sorry if that is a disappointment! I think placentas are wickedly awesome, but I definitely don't want it on the wall. Let's stick with baby footprints. 


source


I was recently with a group of expecting moms who were discussing placenta encapsulation. Ingesting placenta capsules is kinda weird, for sure, but what's really weird is the people who willingly cut up and dry out a placenta to make them! I am not brave enough, let me tell you. I don't have a weak stomach, but I wouldn't make it through a process like that without losing it. It involves blood rinsing, chunk cutting, dehydrating, and grinding. "Hi, I hope you don't mind, but I borrowed your coffee grinder to grind a dehydrated placenta. Nothing gross or anything, totally natural. The coffee you already drank this morning tasted fine, right?" 

Placenta capsules are supposed to offer all kinds of health benefits. Postpartum healing, milk production, energy and mood support, etc. I am not going to deny that I am actually a little interested about the benefits of placenta pills. 

Some women were even telling me how they saved their left-ever capsules, after they used them postpartum, in the freezer and took them for PMS. I hadn't heard of this, either, but apparently they help lift your mood and help PMS symptoms. Super weird. 


source


The weirdest thing that I heard about placentas was the mom who said she ate hers. I know animals eat them, I know that it's a primal thing, but I don't think I have the stamina to even consider such a thing. How bizarre. If you want to eat your placenta there are plenty of recipes here on the internet for you! 


source


They look gross, they really do. But they do a heck of a good job feeding babies in the womb and assisting in the formation of tiny humans! They are literally organs. In fact, they function as multiple organs in one. The placenta feeds your baby, is your baby's kidneys, immune system and lungs! They are the only organs that the body gets rid of when the organ has fulfilled its purpose. It's amazing, truly. And how incredible that the mother and baby have blood that pass through the placenta in separate arteries without mixing! 

And to all you dads completely grossed out by just the word placenta (I like to taunt my husband like how the hyenas taunt each other saying "Mufasa" on The Lion King. "Placenta, placenta, placenta!"), you're involved. The formation of a placenta requires sperm, obviously, so you're just as responsible. 


source


Remember, we've all been supported by a placenta. It's natural, it's life. 

Don't worry, I'm not going to eat mine. 


Blessings! 


Sort:  

Ok... In my endeavor getting to know you better, I just stumbled over this post and I have to say, that this is by far one of the grossest things I have ever read... I didn´t know, that this is a thing... and the recipes cookbook... this... omg.... I guess, I will have nightmares and show this to my colleagues at work tomorrow.... just to scare the shit out of them... that will be fun! Thanks! 😀

Hahaha! That is hilarious! Let me know how grossed out they are! :D

resembles a tree

Yes! People say that it has a natural pattern for "the tree of life." :)

It does... I seen prints made and they are lovely.
I personally had mine encapsulated. I swear by it .

Oh, my gosh, how hilarious! I posted about encapsulation today. 😁

Placentas are so gross, I can't even look at your pictures, but like you said they are amazing for the role that they play within our bodies. This was an interesting topic. Thanks for sharing this beautiful grossness. I had no idea there were pills made from it. I don't think that I'll be the person to ever try them out. Following because I really enjoy reading your well-written posts and I want to see more.

They really do look gross, I totally agree! But thank goodness they are so wonderful and we don't have to see them very often. Haha!
Thanks for the follow! :D

I disagree. I'm left in wonder by each one I see....so complex and beautiful that this thing is a reflection of everything in the universe.

I think they are very complex and beautiful, for sure! 😊

I was just happy to be done with mine! LOL

Haha, no kidding! :D

yes!!!! YES!!!! this is the best part of my job is mixing birth and art. litterally brings me tears... more post PLEASE!!!!

I'm so glad you liked this post! 😁
What is your job that mixes birth and art? 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60950.37
ETH 3387.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49