The Gift of Poison | Thought Sandwich

in #health6 years ago (edited)

LOVE.png

Every Valentine’s Day, Christmas, Easter, New Year’s Eve or whichever other made up holiday we can think of, stores are stocked to the brim with more sugary treats than we can imagine.
Then there’s your birthday, graduation day, housewarming party etc.

On every single one of those occasions, we exchange various chocolates, candy, cakes and we keep doing this until one of us dies.
Then we bring that stuff to the funeral.

We’re not sure if you’re aware of what sugar does to your body, but just to give you an idea, here’s a video you can watch.

Sugar is an incredibly addictive substance and sadly it’s almost everywhere. Quitting it is almost like going through rehab and you should be prepared to deal with headaches, mood swings, lack of energy and well overall feeling miserable.
And don’t even get me started about the cravings, the memory is still too fresh…

When did it become acceptable to give each other something that has such a negative effect on our overall health?
Why are we so happy to receive those things?
Are we so insecure that we can’t handle someone telling us that what we’re doing isn’t healthy?
Or is our addiction so deeply rooted that we can’t bear facing reality anymore?

Diabetes is spreading like plague and obesity is becoming far too common. New research suggests that there are over 650 million adults and over 124 million children classified as obese.

http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs311/en/

Why are things that lead to this, considered loving gifts?
And why do we tell each other that it doesn’t matter?
Somehow it became a norm to give this poison to each other as a way of showing we care.
Care about what exactly?

Not the person's health obviously or their physical appearance.
I tried and failed to quit sugar more times than I can count because it always presented a source of comfort for me and being depressed, I craved that comfort more than the average person.

And not having it made me sad, angry, miserable and bitchy.
If I wasn’t trying to sabotage myself (and trust I was very good at that), I had plenty of other people willing to step in and do it for me!
So every birthday I got a bunch of chocolate and whenever I came up with an excuse, they were there to back me up.

Instead of getting encouragement from my friends and family, I got comments like

''One piece of chocolate won’t kill you!''
''Oh come on, it’s my birthday, have some cake!''
''It’s the holiday season sweetie, you can start eating healthy in January!''

Which one of these am I supposed to view as people caring about me?

The one that actually cared was Andrej.
He called me fat.
Not chubby, fat.
That’s what woke me up.
And since we met I went down 3 sizes.

No matter how emotional, upset, depressed or whatever else I am, he refuses to give up on me.
And no matter how angry he makes me at that moment, I always end up thanking him for being in my life.
I have never gotten a single chocolate bar from him and he calls me out on all of my excuses.
And I feel so much better, I’m way healthier and it’s been a while since I was this confident.

Honestly, for my next birthday, I’ll be really happy if someone gets me some broccoli instead of the usual liver killing, diabetes causing, energy draining and fat creating poison.

If you enjoyed this post, don't forget to upvote and resteem!

Stay positive and we promise to see you as soon as possible!

Love, Thought Sandwich
Thought_Sandwich_Fb_Cover_photo.png


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60181.64
ETH 2539.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46