4 Interesting Ways to Use Apple Cider Vinegar for your Health and Beauty

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Happy Sunday Steemians!

I thought I'd take a break from sharing food photos to discuss one of my favourite ingredients instead - apple cider vinegar! I have always had some apple cider vinegar stocked in the pantry after being introduced to it at a Raw Vegan detox in Thailand but I mainly used it just for my salad dressings for a tangy kick. I honestly didn’t think much about the health benefits of it until I realised @cjsound was using it as a face wash/toner. I started to do more research and discovered that it was more than just something to be thrown into my salads, it had so many different uses to increase your health and to help your everyday life. Bragg’s Apple Cider book contains heaps of different ways you can use ACV for yourself and within your household but I will list the 4 things that we use it for specifically in my household.

Food

Probably one of the more common ways of using this product as I mentioned above and the easiest way to incorporate some probiotics into your diet. I normally mix this in with my homemade salad dressing by mixing a bit of balsamic vinegar, ACV, maple, lemon, olive oil and pepper to taste. I also use it to make my homemade vegan mayo, aioli, hollandaise and my cheeses.I also recently learnt that you can use it to sour plant based milk to make recipes that include buttermilk!

Drink

ACV helps with clearing the throat and relieves cold symptoms which is why you will often find people drinking it while they’re sick. Simply put 1 tbs ACV with a sweetener of choice (maple syrup/date syrup/honey if you're not vegan) and mix it in with hot water. You can also drink it daily to look after your gut health as it contains plenty of probiotics due to it’s fermentation process. I kick this up a notch with what I call my health elixir by adding in 1 tsp butterfly pea powder, 1/2 tsp ashwaganda and 1/2 tsp pearl collagen powder. It gives you an energy boost so you can also drink this when you’re feeling a little run down.

Hair

I was shocked at the results of using ACV as a conditioner. The book says that you can replace your conditioner with a filtered mix of ACV and water but I use it alongside my conditioner and have had great results. All I do is mix 1 parts ACV with 4 parts water in a bottle. After conditioning my hair, I rinse my hair with the ACV mixture and let it sit for about 5 minutes (watch your eyes). I then rinse it out with water and my hair is left feeling as soft as baby hair.

Face

ACV makes for an amazing face wash, make up remover and toner! It is especially great for those with acne prone skin because it fights bacteria, balances the acidity on your skin and removes excess oil. You can start off filtering it down with water and working your way up to pure ACV as it is quite potent and leaves a stinging sensation if you don’t. I tend to use it when I see a breakout occurring and it controls the inflammation straight away.

There are plenty of other uses out there but those are my most commonly used ones. If you're interested in more you can check out Dr Axe's article here or you can grab one of Bragg's Apple Cider Vinegar books. I hope you found this interesting and as useful as I did discovering them!

xx Ana

Sort:  

I can't believe how many different use cases there are for apple cider vinegar.

I know! I'm still shocked when I come across a new one. I would have never thought to put some ACV on a burn but apparently that works too!

I once used it to get rid of an annoying mole, so glad it's gone now, it does leave a scar, but that would also be the case if a doctor had removed it with a knife or something.
Also drank it a while but I never felt any special improvements hehe.
I also used it in my hair but the smell was too strong for me, well at least it worked for one thing ^^

You used it on moles?! I heard it worked on skin tags. Glad to finally hear from someone that it actually worked and isn't a scam! Thanks!

Yeah that's very interesting to hear. May have to try it out.

Yes on one mole, it was in my neck and everytime I brushed my hair I kinda made it open, so annoying! Then I put the apple cider on it for 2-3 weeks and it just fell off, so if you have a annoying mole, try it out, it really worked for me (:

I did read about it getting rid of moles! I can’t believe it worked! Maybe some bio oil could help remove the scar? That’s still amazing results though.
I drink it for my gut health and i’m still learning how to tell whether my gut feels better or not because it’s not really obvious signs. The smell is a bit strong for hair but i’m lucky the essential oils in my normal conditioner kind of mellow it out!

Hmm, maybe I should try it again with conditioner with a stronger smell hehe.

Taste so good, like a trash truck.. haha but yeah really good for you..... Upvoted....

Haha you must not be adding enough sweetener to it!

Nope, I take it straight up.... lol

thx for sharin!

you are most welcome!

nice post @thetinykitchen , actually im using apple cedar too on my face. and yes i agree that its healthy too use. keep posting healthy information. followed and upvote you already. :)

Thank you for the support Raine! It is such a versatile healthy product, I love it! Glad to see you love using it too.

Love apple cider vinegar! We give it to our chickens, too!

That's interesting! Do you just give it to them in their food? What are the benefits?

We give it to them pretty frequently in their water! Surprisingly, it has a lot of the same benefits for them as it does for people. It keeps parasites and mites away, it works like an antibiotic and helps fight infection, is good for their gut flora, and also helps to keep their waterers clean! It's pretty great stuff!

That is actually so amazing! Thank you for sharing I will defs keep that in mind.

very nice post friends, I really like posting your friends.

Apple cider vinegar truly is a miracle potion 😊. As you say it can work wonders on the skin and you have given the directions just right. I use it as a toner some times and it really clears your skin 😊.

That's the perfect description for it! Miracle potion! Defs try it for your hair next time!

I really do have to try it for my hair 😊. It's really dry now so will give it a go when i'm back from Koh Phangang 😊

Thanks for sharing this post! Excellent @thetinykitchen

You are so welcome! Thanks :)

Bermanfaat bisa di coba

thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49