You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should I Workout When I'm Sick To Sweat It Out?

in #health7 years ago

I've got to say I think pain in muscles during excersize is caused by a relative lack of oxygen (or relative ischaemia). It's not till after working out that the micro-tears are the main source of ouchies :)

Another important factor here is that it's not primarily the immune system healing tissue damage. Apart from a few phagocytes used to clear debris the main work is done by local myocytes. It's the re-allocation of energy that's the main problem, not taking up all your immune cells.

Sort:  

Yes, and the main energy DURING your workout is from adenosine triphosphate, or ATP, which is the energy or 'fuel' in the mitochondria. I was not speaking about workout pain DURING the workout. I was talking about next day soreness, which most people originally believed to be caused by lactic acid in the muscle. We know now that it is not. It is micro tears.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55819.41
ETH 2522.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32