You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Limited mobility | Unlimited stories: How my friends and family show me they understand my limitations

in #health6 years ago

Having worked with differently abled people for many years I too view the environment around me with an eye for accessibility.

On one extended trip to Europe was littered with situations where having limited mobility was an exercise in problem solving and patience. Looking back on it we have quite a few “funny” stories in an “I can’t believe that actually happend” kind of way.

I totally understand your plight and I also know you are all the more stronger and awesome for it.

XXXOOO
~T

Sort:  

Ah, where in the world are you? I often feel like Europe is not doing well on the accessibility scale, but I'm curious to hear where your experiences are based on :D

Thanks for these words, they mean a lot to me! :-)

I totally understand your plight and I also know you are all the more stronger and awesome for it.

I'm in the US and due to the ADA LAWS (Americans with Disabilities Act) a lot of those types of accessibility problems are addressed.

I won't say it's perfect by any means and there is still a long way to go but at least there are laws I place to help the process along.

In Europe traveling by plane was incredibly weird when travelling with someone with an electric scooter for mobility. Not to mention the lack of ramps and such.

What are the laws like there?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74