You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Colorful Food And Health, Eat The Rainbow

in #health7 years ago

The pictures in this post look delicious. And yes, it's true that the more colorful your plate, the healthier it probably is.

I found myself without anything quick to eat for lunch today, so had to actually make something. Being a vegan and healthy eating advocate, I always try to eat as healthy as possible. Throwing together some things I already had in stock here, I made a baked potato and topped it with sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, an herbal seasoning blend left over from a restaurant, a mashed avocado, pistachio nuts, Kalamata olives, and hemp oil.

It was good, and filling, and I feel like I had a decent, healthy meal. Now, what to eat for dinner? That is the question.

Sort:  

Sounds yummy, unfortunately I've found that I have a strong sensitivity to nightshades, of which potato is one, and I usually save the carb heavies until after 3pm so I don't sugar crash during the day. Baked sweet potatoes are easily substituted, and an excellent source of resistant starch to feed my gut flora, plus the purple ones are rich in anthocyanin, a powerful antioxidant, in addition to the ones discussed in this post.

What do you do to raise the levels of omega-3s?

Walnuts, chia seeds, flax, hemp seeds, that kind of thing. I use a lot of hemp seeds these days, actually, and chia seed pudding is one of my new favorite things for breakfast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65680.50
ETH 2657.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88