You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding Calories for Weight Loss

in #health6 years ago

I like the way you used the first law of thermodynamic to explain why calories matter. Its good to lose weight who are overweight...but for the person who wants to maintain the weight...I understood that it is very important to have a sufficient calorie intake and maintain it daily to support your level of daily activity. Is 2300 KCal/day a good calorie for a lean person who is moderately active?

Sort:  

Good point @steem-monkey. It's important to eat enough food to maintain body weight. Calorie requirements are very individual - depending on weight, height, muscle, activity, age etc.

What I like to do is track what I'm eating for just one week, and see if my weight stays the same. If my weight stays the same then I know that that much food is about right for maintenance. I do this because metabolic rate can change regularly so one hard and fast rule just doesn't work!

Does that make sense?

B

It does make sense. Our metabolic rate slowly decrease with our age and hence calorie and the number of meals we take should be adjusted and timed accordingly. Its fascinating just to understand how our body is responding to the food we eat on weekly basis and use that outcome to make a healthy change in our life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68221.63
ETH 3277.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66