When life starts to get you down....start looking at the world through the eyes of a child.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Often as Adults we go through periods within our lives that can be overbearing.

We suffer from misfortune, an ever changing world, work commitments, political instability, constant worry, issues with health, wealth, friendships, relationships and a myriad of a thousand other things. Most of these things are detrimental to our over all well-being. Many of our concerns and anxiety's are learnt behavior, developed over many years. Often we are told to plow through any problems or to harden up, that quotes such as "No pain = No gain", though useful in terms of body building, really is a nonsense quote when applied to over all life. Show me a person who would want to knowingly and willingly suffer pain? In a room of one hundred people, only one or two people would raise his/her hand gladly to state that they love physical pain. Why? Because they are either sadist or mentally retarded!
In the writing of this post I wanted to include snippets of my life as examples as to how life can at times be soul destroying, extremely painful and at times down right fucking awful!
Yesterday while picking up my wife from her job at a local hotel. Outside was a young woman with two little kids, one a toddler and the other around four years old. The mother was in tears and wailing quite loudly, mumbling incoherently about having been left at the hotel by her partner with no money, transport or a place to stay as he had ended their relationship. I offered her a ride to any family that she may have in the area and my phone number if she had no where to go. I sat with her for an hour (wife did an extra hour). However she did receive a phone call from a friend that was on her way to pick her and the girls up and could put them up for a couple of days. What struck me during all of this was the fact that the girls continued to play and laugh with so much energy. One minute, they were ballerinas and the next they were Fairy Queen mother. Mean while in the back ground, their Mum was sobbing, filled with trepidation,anxiety, worry and concern for her daughters. She looked thirty five years old when in reality she was no more than twenty five.

So what does this all have to do with looking at the world through the eyes of a child? EVERYTHING!

Life, sometimes life has a way of kicking a man in the balls and back handing a woman in the face, more so when you least expect it! We all want something from life but if we were really being truthful, we would want a good life. One, where, on our death beds; was filled with love, happiness, fulfillment, purpose, wonderful memories and a sense of being irreplaceable for both family, friends and your fellow man. To have added value to others.
Ask a group of University students to describe a circle and you will always get the most stupid answers you could image. "Oh, its a continual arc that is a line in a circular rotation that is infinite in length, that is 360 degrees from its center, that is sub dividable in quarters, has a radius that is over and above the ventral plane on a two dimensional tilt that can be phased by a sixteen degree phase variance, with sunshine shining out my ass!"
Now go and ask the same question from a three year old. I Bet you. You will understand the child within seconds. Why? Simplicity !
Children don't explain the circle. They show you the circle. We as adults are like those students. Like them, we over the years have learnt to become complicated, we explain things in grand ways so as not to appear stupid, particularly when among our peers. We have forgotten the things that made us happy as children. Granted, some people have had terrible child hoods and to re visit the past brings back painful memories. This is a general observation.
Every child ever born has always had a sense of wonderment, that look of excitement when seeing something for the first time.Look at the faces of children when you go to a magic show. Everything for them is wonderful, exciting, their eyes are glued to the performance. The real world offers them another imaginary world where you can become anything and everything. Where even a blind child can smile and yet has never seen a smile. Young children do not see color or race, and racism is a foreign concept. If this is a form of blindness, then I want to be blind like them!
The world for them is the best adventure play ground. Where is the adventure in a square box, where people openly insult each other on reality TV, for a cash reward. Where to win, you have to be the worst that you can be! Where people display the worst within humanity for all the world to see and have a false sense of happiness when they do win.
Have you ever brought an expensive present for a child and they became quickly bored with the actual toy? Then the child plays with the large cardboard box for hours. For the child, the box is a plane, a car, a turtles house and anything that their imagination can come up with! Their imagination is not only a gift to themselves but a gift to you also. When was the last time you blew bubbles? Blowing bubbles purely for the sake of blowing bubbles! When was the last time you imagined fairies and dragons and monsters that scared you when you go to bed? When was the last time you actually stopped and smelt a flower, let alone picked one? Built a sand castle on the beach and had to defend it against the evil University students who speak a foreign language and have a Grand Chancellor as their supreme leader?
They say that every human needs four things that are necessary for life . Food, clothing, shelter and love. I would like to add a fifth. IMAGINATION!
I have suffered great pain. Having lost my son, father, sister, grandson and many others. Life hasn't always given me the best cards. My family always say that at times I am almost child like, particularly with my view of the world. I am now in the second half (hopefully) of my life and to this day I still get excited when I watch a magic show or attend the circus, it is as much fun now, as it was when I first went as a child!
The young mother, Jess was her name. Every once in a while she would peer out from behind her tears and for several fractions of a second would allow herself to smile. No matter how fleeting those smiles were, she was looking out on the world through her daughters eyes. I pray she calls me to tell me she and her daughters are safe.

new line.png

Check out some of my other comedy jokes post:

https://steemit.com/funny/@skytronia/11-laughing-my-ass-off-big-time-some-of-my-favorite-quotes-jokes-motivation-facts-and-true-stories-during-my-life-time

https://steemit.com/jokechallenge/@skytronia/funny-true-story-my-entry-in-the-weekly-jokechallenge

https://steemit.com/funny/@skytronia/10-top-10-jokes-laughing-my-ass-off-big-time-some-of-my-favorite-quotes-jokes-motivation-facts-and-true-stories-during-my-life

https://steemit.com/funny/@skytronia/9-laughing-my-ass-off-big-time-some-of-my-favorite-quotes-jokes-motivation-facts-and-true-stories-during-my-life-time

https://steemit.com/funny/@skytronia/8-laughing-my-ass-off-big-time-some-of-my-favorite-quotes-jokes-motivation-and-true-stories-that-i-have-created-over-my-life

https://steemit.com/funny/@skytronia/7-laughing-my-ass-off-big-time-some-of-my-favorite-quotes-jokes-motivation-and-true-stories-that-i-have-created-over-my-life

new line.png

All Images Sourced From PIXABAY

downloawwed (1).png

Sort:  

My 8 year old teaches me things and surprises me every day. Great post.

Kids are amazing. I too learn from kids all the time, especially so when it comes to technology! Thank you for comment.

Nece....

Thanks mate

Great stuff! We never should allow our inner child die! Very motivating! Keep it up! Greetings from Spain! :)

How true. Sometimes I look at my grand children and I am just as fascinated by the world as they are. Our inner child is vital for our well being. Thank you so much for replying.

Excellent post, ir is said that a good researcher is a child that never grow up. Thinking as a child is fresher. Best regards from @presentnworldsc.

That is so true. I have always looked at things in a simplistic way and it has helped in so many ways. Which is why I am really good at research and thinking outside the box. Thank you @presentnworldsc.

You said it absolutely right.. Sometimes we need to fool ourselves to get out of the Bush.. But our imagination should feel real although virtual.. Stupidity or absense of intellect proves to be beneficial for ones wellbeing in certain situations.. Often intellectuals are depressed.. U got the point..

Don't get me wrong, I think being an intellectual is important but sometimes true intellectuals are able to access their child mind in a way that creates simplicity and a different perspective, to my way of thinking; an added bonus to any thought process. We grow up becoming more and more complicated and sadly believe that that is a sign of intelligence.

Absolutely.. I got your point.. Nice thought... My point is too much intellect could be dangerous and can make people boorish..

We sometimes become too intelligent that we lose sight of the things that are truly important and we forget about being happy.

It is said that kids make great entrepreneurs because they don't have limits to their imagination and they also make their imagination a reality.
Great post man

Thank you so very much. How true, there have been children that have made millions due to their imagination and brilliantly simple ideas.

I have actually seen a child create water rings to be placed around young trees. Councils in New Zealand brought thousands of these rings, as it saved so much on water that they made a return on their investment within the first week of purchase. The kid is a millionaire. He's now 12.

Thanks buddy, much appreciated.

Surely , children are open minded and if adults had remained with that kind of open minded ness, the world would have less miss trust

I agree I think the world would be a much better place if we retained that ability to be more open minded and less rigid in our thinking.

What a great motivational post. I have a great-granddaughter and reading this post, I got thinking about how she views the world and it just lifted my heart. What a joyful experience to see the world again through a child's eyes.

Congratulations on having a great grand daughter and I think as we age we learn to appreciate the world more through their eyes but also that we are more capable of of loving them more, especially unconditionally. Glad this post was up lifting for you. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88