You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Death by consumption: Wasting away

in #health5 years ago

I spend a lot of time thinking about things like this lately. Some major factors that play into it are probably the fact that I turned 40 last year and also that my mother has a terminal illness. That makes you start to realize that time is fleeting and that we may as well try to make the best of it while we can. I've started staring some of my addictive traits in the face and changed them. I quit consuming alcohol, then cannabis, then I quit gaming, and then I (gasp) quit coffee. I cut out sugar, grains, and other foods that I don't feel are ideal for me, and I've never felt better mentally or physically in my entire adult life.

The more I cut out some of the negative things, the more I wanted to be active. I don't necessarily "work out" per se, but I do go on long walks a lot, and I do a minimal amount of bodyweight exercises like pushups, pull-ups, etc. to keep in shape. It's just funny how if you set the stage the right way, you won't to fight any desire to be lazy or unproductive. It just sort of happens naturally, as it probably did for humans before we had some of the luxuries we enjoy these days.

The sad thing is, a lot of people have the wrong idea about what is bad to consume too much of if they want to avoid death by things like heart disease. Sugar is probably one of the worst offenders, but people don't really worry about avoiding that. Industrial seed oils like soybean oil, canola oil, etc. are also all consumed at alarming rates, and not many people know about some of the dangers associated with them.

All one really has to do is look back in time a little bit and think about how long these foods have even been available to humans in the quantities they currently are (in the case of sugar) or at all (in the case of seed oils). It takes modern machines to crush seeds into an oil, and when that technology was first invented, it was to make industrial lubricants, not food products.

Around the time that Crisco was invented in the early 20th century is also when heart disease rates seemed to skyrocket. All of the processed and packaged foods people consume far too frequently these days are laden with sugar and seed oils. It's no wonder people are confused about what's best, though... a lot of the information we have, including even government guidelines, was (and continues to be) influenced by major food manufacturers to a large extent.

I think that people who can find a way to go back to a more natural way of eating, sticking to whole and real foods, will find their health improving immensely. It's not really so important which particular way of eating they stick to. Some people will choose vegetarian or vegan for . ethical reasons (I did that for years), and that may work for them, and then some people will choose nearly the exact opposite (as I have now) and find that that works for them.

Wow, that was really long. Maybe I should've just made my own post instead of writing one as a comment on yours! :)

What I should've said, and what I'll end with, is get well soon!

Sort:  

Some major factors that play into it are probably the fact that I turned 40 last year and also that my mother has a terminal illness.

Me too, and my mother dies of cancer in 2004. I should know better.

It's just funny how if you set the stage the right way, you won't to fight any desire to be lazy or unproductive.

This is what i need (back). There are keystone habits, ones that put pressure on other factors. For example, those who start going to the gym regularly generally start eating better, and then feeling better, thinking better and gaining confidence. Aiming to gain confidence without addressing other issues is likely to fail.

Sugar is probably one of the worst offenders, but people don't really worry about avoiding that.

A book everyone should read is Life without Bread. When it comes to soybeans (milk), it worries me as my daughter has to eat them as she is allergic to so many things currently. It is a rock and a hard place though. But, she consumes forest berries, plain vegetables and quality meats for pretty much everything else. Very little processed food, so hopefully it offsets some of the risk.

I am yet to meet a turned vegan who has stuck to it long term, even those who do it for ethical reasons. It is interesting in my opinion as the hardwiring overpowers the ethics.

I don't mind reading good comments :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58705.75
ETH 2588.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45