You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Unfairness And Unrealistic Promises On Steemit Can Literally Make People Seriously Depressed - THIS IS A RECIPE FOR A DISASTER!

in #health8 years ago

I was wondering when I would see this becoming a bigger issue... but hey, Facebook is the same. This is nothing new. People have become depressed and suicidal over not getting likes or if people deny their friend request. I've up-voted because we as a community can prevent this type of social bias but I do think it's a bit heavy handed to say it's making people suicidal.

I think people need to remember that there's a lot more to life than these platforms, even if there is money involved... I myself have gotten lucky on Steemit but I can also say safely that it's not without hard work and quality content. My best posts have been the money makers. Everything else has got pennies and cents.

Suicide is a serious issue. If Steemit is making you unhappy then I think it's time to reevaluate your attitude toward your experience here.

Also, as time progresses we will see a lot more large VEST owners. That means there will be a lot more wealth to be dispersed. I would tell someone who's dealing with depression here to hang in there and wait out the storm.

Sort:  

I can see some comparison to facebook but I don't mean some pathetic FB frustration, because someone did not like your selfie or has or your attention seeking FB post. I'm talking here about hardworking ingenuity and creativity.
Also, please do not only think that this post is about myself. I am expressing frustration of many people I have spoken on in chat. I have not said anywhere that, in particualar makes me feel suicidal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33