We've all been practicing a less extreme version of Chinese foot binding, and why barefoot walking/running is better

in #health7 years ago (edited)

In ancient China, they practices foot binding - the "art" of tightly wrapping the feet of young girls to drastically change the shape and size of their feet.

 

1200px-A_HIGH_CASTE_LADYS_DAINTY_LILY_FEET.jpg

 

This of course resulted in infections, rotting flesh. toenail removals, soft bones, broken bones, muscular atrophy and if the girls survived to become women, they would experience back and leg problems throughout their lives.

Luckily this trend disseappeared, but in the west we've continued on with a less extreme version of this foot binding. Especially woman in particular press their feet into narrow and horrible shaped foot wear like high heels, but also regular shoes and even sneakers and trainers.

The author of "anatomy for runners" Jay Dicharry came to the conclusion that the feet of civilized people were unnaturally narrow and deformed - after studying the feet of African bare foot runners.

Just take a look at your own feet. Is your little toe pointing inwards? Does it look like the food to the left or the foot to the right?

Mine is not completely like the feet to the right, but they look more like that than the feet to the left. The feet to the left is actually the foot of an infant.

Skjermbilde 2017-12-09 kl. 18.57.42.png

But on this picture under, the foot on the left is an African bare foot runner/hunter gatherer. Look how wide their feet are.

Skjermbilde 2017-12-09 kl. 18.59.02.png

My personal story

After my mother died of heart disease at a young age, I started looking for some answers. She had always had problems with her feet. Personally I haven't. But I've always been an active and athletic type. But I started taking more notice of my feet after her death (she had to amputate even without Diabetes) and how I could improve circulation.

I started running more frequently, but I couldn't really get into it. I have two torn ACL's and the one that I had surgery on still bothers me 20 years later. My wife had started running with Vibram Five fingers, but I was reluctant to try them and I couldn't quite see the point. But as I was desperate to try and improve my own health and circulation and general feet health - I did buy a pair of Vibram five fingers.

And boy did that change everything for me. Running felt a lot more fun. And since I have an amazing forest just outside my door, with thousands of trails and paths, I have almost unlimited space to roam around.

I started looking for barefoot shoes that I could wear recreationally and to the grocery store, and even for nicer occasions. I'm the kind of guy who likes to dress, if not great and super modern - at least decent. And I did not want "hippie-shoes".

What I noticed after a short while with all my barefoot shoes was how NARROW all my old shoes were. Even my sneakers and trainers feels so narrow. Another thing is the cushioning on regular shoes. I always thought they served a purpose, but after a few months my feet are starting to do the cushioning themselves, and it feels soft and nice even on tarmac.

What happens is that when we pad and cushion our feet is that a lot of smaller muscles in the feet are inactive. When you start walking more barefoot, you use more muscles and your feet and calves become stronger.

The "ironic" thing is that I don't suffer from any plantar fascism (pun intended) or knee problems anymore. My meniscus and ACL feels better than when I was 21. And as a lower back pain sufferer for the most of my life - I'm amazed to see that I haven't had any traumatic "CLICKS" in my lower back. I suffered from time to time from incredibly painful "lockings"of the lower back where I could not even get out of bed. I mean..literally not get out of bed - for days - with everything that includes...Doctors found no problems with my back. Today? I haven't had any issues in a couple of years. I can't credit barefoot walking/running for all that - perhaps more the yoga I'm doing. But still, my legs and back feels amazing.

My feet feels amazingly better. I had decent feet, but I could get very tired and have aching calves and feet after standing a lot or walking around the shopping mall. I was not in great shape neither, and the barefoot running made running much more fun. Now I run 10 miles and 15 miles multiple days a week and I just ran my first sub 25 minute 5km. This has of course helped my feet a lot too, and not just the barefoot shoes. And there are some situations I would still go for regular shoes. Walking around the city for hours could probably be more comfortable with some cushioning. And if you're going for a hike in a rocky mountain I would still chose to wear supported soles and "hard" shoes.

But other than that, I'm 100% barefoot. And I've really done some research to find the right shoes. I've ordered bad shoes, ugly shoes and just the wrong shoes. But the ones on the pictures are all great shoes for different purpose. I can really recommend them, as I've bought and delivered back a TON of barefoot shoes. These are the best ones IMO.

Vivo scott leather These are my autumn and winter shoes. I've put in a wool sole and an insulated sole on top. I can wear these even without wool socks in the middle of the winter (remember I live in Norway) and still feel good and warm even when idling outside.

20171209_191652.jpg

 

The Lems are a couple of amazing shoes. These were my first non-running, non-five finger barefoot shoes that looks almost like normal shoes. They are so light and so comfortable to wear. I bought a size larger than I usually wear so I could fit an extra sole.

20171209_191700.jpg

 

Vivo Primus Trek leather These are also leather shoes, but more for hiking and trail walking. I recently bought these, but they feel great so far.

 

The five fingers These are the "famous" five fingers, and they are great. I even use them on snow without socks in them. But I have ordered the insulated version of them for longer runs in the winter.

http://www.vibram-fivefingers.de/vibram-fivefingers/trek-ascent-insulated
last ned (1).jpeg

20171209_191707.jpg

 

Then I use ONE pair of "normal" shoes, although they are pretty broad and very light, the Nike Free 5.0, which is considered a barefoot shoe I guess. But compared to real barefoot shoes they do have some support and cushion. But I love them, and I use them if I have to jog on tarmac or if I'm going for very long runs or walking in the city etc.

last ned.jpeg

 

Hopefully this cured you from the insane shoe-indoctrination that nobody seems to be conscious about. Why on earth are we pressing our feet into narrow shoes? It's the narrowness that bothers me the most I guess. But also, who all this cushioning and stiffness in the shoes? Sure, if you walk ALOT around the city, perhaps some cushioning is good, I dunno..I'm starting to doubt that as well as I am wearing my barefoot shoes more often in those environments as well, and my feet are getting better and better regardless.

 
 

Odin approves of this message.png

Sort:  

Good thing to see other barefooters too! I really noticed how my feet position got wider and activated after starting to barefoot; and running builds the calves of steel! Now that I've gotten used to it, it's an absolute horror for me to witness the women's narrow pointed high heels: "That's not how your feet are supposed to be!" When it comes to feet, aesthetics seems still to be the first worry before the health and functionality of them. Though, people are increasingly starting to pay attention to the issue.

Hmm... I could have some use for such winter shoes that you have for Finnish winter; I still have an old pair of regular shoes for the period. I think I'm going to look into them for the next winter.

Sorry about the late answer @celestal ! So, your feet has changed huh? How long did it take before you started noticing it? Maybe my mind is playing tricks on me, but I'm starting to believe I'm seeing changes all ready! Like..I'm able to with my little toe muscle or something to move my little toe. It was almost on its way to be jammed under the other toe..like inwards. Horrible. But I swear to god it looks like my feet are all ready starting to become broader and my little toe more outwards.

Regular shoes could be OK. I just came home from walking around Oslo for a couple of hours in kind of cold weather (high humidity in Oslo) and my heels start to hurt just a little bit. But I have to keep in mind that I've been running A LOT lately barefoot, AND been using barefoot shoes for ALL occasions the past month. Could be that my legs are just a little bit tired. :)

And yeah..man my calves are getting ripped :D

Thanks for the comment, fellow barefooter!

How long did it take before you started noticing it?

Maybe something like a year or two. I've noticed the same thing as you that my toes are wider when walking. Initially when walking with naked feet I realized how my toes and especially the big toe was turned inward towards the other toes. This was obviously because of the narrow pointed shoes. So I consciously tried to spread my toes wider and activating the muscles in my feet and eventually I didn't have to make the conscious effort anymore to walk properly on barefoot.

Regular shoes could be OK.

I just have them because they are still usable and I'm very hesitant to buy new stuff. But they aren't optimal which I've noticed after changing to them for the winters; I can feel how they limit the position of an active posture on the feet.

and my heels start to hurt just a little bit.

I remember this happening to me also but I haven't experienced it for a while tho. It happened when standing a lot on hard surfaces but I believe the feet will get used to it too.

This post has received a 4.76 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @scandinavianlife. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 3.66 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @scandinavianlife.

Very interesting! Thanks for the info and recommendations, you might have another convert!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50