How to Yoga - Wild Thing

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians! 


Honor the space between no longer and not yet. -- Nancy Lewis


Teaching yoga at Steemfest was a dream come true;
I love a good miracle!
It's surreal that it's over now.
I feel like I'm in a time warp.
I looked forward to it for so long
and enjoyed every second of it,
and now I need to refocus my energy on the next step
at the @gardenofeden and Eden 2.0.
I'm excited to learn more and more and more and more
about cryptocurrency, because I see our revolutions aligning.
The GOE has built a one of a kind economy based on values over the last decade,
and it feels obvious to me that crypto is the evolution
of our forward thinking, but I have more questions than ever!
What if I want to code too; where do I start?
How do I create our own cryptocurrency? Can I mine?
How can I use everything to benefit my people?
What will we create with the awesome power we generated in Amsterdam?
How is everything going to play out??
I'm so glad I have a front row seat to this blessed life!
Once again, my excitement is exploding,
so I'm going to return to yoga to find some clarity, peace, and calm.
I hope you are benefitted by my wealth of knowledge--
if you are happy and healthy, our entire community is strengthened!



I've used this pic from my travels to Amsterdam, so I figured it's time to address the "How To" for this delicious pose.

This is Wild Thing

AKA Camatkarasana in Sanskrit

(camatkara = miracle/surprise, asana = pose/posture)


Wild Thing is THE heart opener. 


I've heard this pose described as "the ecstasy of the enraptured heart unfolding"
and I must agree that's on point.
The heart chakra is the seat of love
as well as the place where the cosmic and physical realms unite.
It's way powerful to open the heart physically;
the energetic waves of that are felt throughout dimensions.

I feel good just looking at this pose!
It's super great for the entire body--
can you feel it in your upper back and shoulders??
Oh man, I'mma take a minute to get in it...

Ok, I'm back!
This stretches everything,
all those nooks and crannies where you store your tension
open up, and you can direct the breath
to flood them with space and light and healing instead.
The lungs and chest expand,
the front of the legs and hip flexors lengthen,
and it's another miracle for the glorious psoas.

This also beats fatigue and depression!
In fact, they say that if you keep your
armpits open for 15 minutes a day
(as in this pose, or down dog, or just lifting the hands over the head),
then you will never get depressed.
That's pretty easy to try, eh?
Way easier than going to the doctor and getting meds, IMHO.

This is a beautiful pose to use in a transitional practice,
one where maybe you're not holding the poses for a real long time
but rather attaching one pose to each inhalation and exhalation
so the breath becomes the movement.
Of course you can hold it as long as you prefer,
but I love to include it in a nice vinyasa = flow sesh.

You can drop the lifted hand to the ground
to come into backbend if that's your jam
and it will impress all of your friends. 😉

Flipping around like this
can work miracles for perspective,
unblocking stuck energies and elevating you
past limited thinking.
Yoga's super rich like that.

How to WILD THING:

  • From down dog, lift the left leg.
  • Bend the knee, and just dig on how that feels for a bit. 
  • Start to bring your weight into the right hand and the edge of the right foot.
  • Bring the heel to the right, keep bringing it, keep bringing it, as you lift the left hand from the ground.
  • Drop and plant the left foot to the ground, extending the left arm overhead. 
  • Lift the hips; think lightness! 
  • Extension comes from the heart. Really soak that in and let it work for you on many levels. 
  • Return to down dog and repeat on the other side. 


Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.




💛  Sara!

Thanks Steemit, this feels really nice to come back to my daily yoga posts...

Now for some more gratitude because it also feels good AF:

  • Thank you @everlove for this great photo from the Miami airport + thanks for being you!
  • Infinite thanks to @quinneaker for infinite inspiration & support, and for my home to return to.
  • A million more thanks again and again to everyone who made Steemfest a killer success-- @roelandp you rock, @ned & @dantheman of course none of this would be possible without you, to the whole community I really love you!!
  • Thank you to everyone who has supported my How to Yoga posts here. I love you too! 
Sort:  

I am so glad you are able to bring the healing arts of yoga to this awesome platform!

Thank you! I'm grateful for your support, my brother!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.44 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you, I am going to attempt this! Definitely in carpeted area!

Awesome, may you feel better than ever!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01