How to Yoga - Warrior III

in #health8 years ago

Good day, Steemians!

What adventures will this new day bring??
It seems many people are all a-twitter over SteemFest, and
with good reason; it's exciting to lay roots in this network!
I want to go too, because I would love to practice yoga
in Amsterdam with @charlieshrem--
I have a vision of offering yoga in prisons,
so what better Steemian to glean insight from for such a project?
I'm calling on my fairy godmother to take me there, please!
(I envision yoga in Acapulco with @dollarvigilante,
and yoga on the moon with @ned and @dantheman
...but I won't get ahead of myself just yet.)
Anyhoo, steemy dreaming aside,
this platform has catalyzed a plethora of upgrades in my life already,
and I give thanks.
I know the yoga, so I bring my wealth of knowledge
in sincere gratitude to do what I can to better this community.
If I only have one wish, it is not to attend a festival, but to help someone
as deeply as yoga has helped me.

This is Warrior III

AKA Virabhadrasana C in Sanskrit
(vira = hero, bhadra = friend, asana = pose/posture)

Warrior III is intense determination.

Warrior III is an advanced posture that builds on Warrior I & II.
When Shiva learned of his wife Sati's death,
he summoned the warrior demon Virabhadra for revenge.
Created from a lock of Shiva's hair,
Virabhadra bursts through the Earth with sword drawn overhead (warrior I),
spies King Daksha (warrior II),
and hones in for the kill (warrior III).

Warrior III is extremely fierce,
stopping at nothing until the task is accomplished.
The full body is engaged, poised and ready to explode.
Conviction and focus are vital to maintaining strength
in this posture.
This is done in love for Sati.

Sati is also called Shakti,
and as Pharrell Williams reminds us,
No one Ever Really Dies,
especially Shakti.
Shakti is Shiva's eternal consort,
the dancer of his dance,
the power to his form.
She is the content to his Steemit, inseparable
inspiration from matter.

How to WARRIOR III:

  • From Warrior II, vinyasa (= half series = a transitional flow between postures = essentially a sun salutation) to mountain pose.
  • Lift the right foot, draw the knee to chest.
  • Exhale, folding forward at the hips.
  • Extend the right leg behind, keeping right foot engaged.
  • Bring body parallel to ground.
  • Extend the arms overhead, or pull them to heart center, or extend along the sides of body.
  • Front body stays strong to support the back.

Breathe in, breathe out.

Breathe in, breathe out.

Breathe in, breathe out.

"Yoga is the journey of the self, through the self, to the self." --B. Gita




💛 Sara!
We can make custom Steemit Ts fit for a king!

Sort:  

Thanks again~
Love the yoga action. Especially in my Epic Threads Steemit-T!

Thank YOU for living yoga in all you do!
This is perfect gear for my Steemit office :)

Grateful to be an inspiring example!

Yes! Im going to go stretch my body right now!

Yes!! Me too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12