How to Yoga - Simple Seated Twist

in #health8 years ago

Good day, Steemians! 

Be, we can just be and breathe easily. -- Matisyahu, "Breathe Easily"

While complicated and challenging have their place
for growth and stimulation,
I greatly appreciate ease as well, and
according to my agenda
today should be smooth sailing!
I'll start with a sweet little yoga warm up,
get my Steemit on, then
support my community as best I can.
Everything is falling into place,
and I'm closer than ever to teaching yoga at Steemfest!
I'm looking forward to meeting everyone in Amsterdam
and animating "the internet's small town";
I already feel familiar here and wonder what will come!
I do know that holding a mindset for ease and fluidity
will manifest those qualities even when life
throws me a curveball.
For stability, I practice yoga.
I share my treasures with you, dear Steemit,
with deepest thanks:

This is Simple Seated Twist

AKA Parivrtta Sukhasana in Sanskrit

(parivrtta = revolved, sukha = easy/joy, asana = pose/posture)

Simple seated twist is foundational.

This pose is super easy.
Sometimes easy gets a bad rap,
as if difficulty measures worth.
I say easy is valuable and desireable.

Simple seated twist is a warm up;
it is an easy posture that prepares the body
for the heavier phases of practice
that may (or may not) come.

You are welcome to build an entire practice with "merely"
easy poses, if that is what your body wants today;
there are still numerous benefits to be derived.

Twists relieve tension, stretch the spine, and
calm the nerves. They squeeze the internal organs,
boosting energy and stimulating detox.
This sweet little pose works wonders to
improve health!

For more advanced postures,
the body still needs to gently open and expand
before coming into them,
which is why base poses like
simple seated twist are vital.

They are foundational to
any depth of practice you choose,
and in that way are maybe more important
than the crazy poses that push your body
to its limits.

There is much to be said for ease;
if you struggle in water, you may drown,
but if you relax and trust you can float.  

How to SIMPLE SEATED POSE WITH TWIST:

  • From seated, draw the legs to any comfortable position.
  • Back of the left hand comes to outside of the right knee.
  • Right hand comes behind the body.
  • Inhale, bringing length to the upper body, opening the chest, and stretching up into the crown.
  • Exhale, and twist from the belly towards the right.
  • Maintaing the space in the chest and shoulders while rooting down through the sit bones.
  • Bliss out.

Breathe in, breathe out.

Breathe in, breathe out.

Breathe in, breathe out.

“The success of Yoga does not lie in the ability to perform postures, but in how it positively changes the way we live our life and our relationships.” -- T.K.V. Desikachar




💛 Sara!
Thank you to the ever lovely @everlove for the lovely photo
We can make custom Steemit Ts or pants fit for a king!

>:<>:<>:<

All SBD generated from upvotes are dedicated towards my trip to Amsterdam, where I will teach yoga at STEEMFEST!  Thank you so much for all of the support you have shown me!


Sort:  

Just read your posts! Looking forward to the yoga sessions at SteemFest! Would be great to get some lessons from the pro!

You should come on Steemit.Chat and share your work in some of the channels there including postpromotions. Would certainly help spread the word about your work!

Also, I just happened to read your introduction in your birthday post! It was amazing!

Cheers!

Thank you, so grateful for your support! I utilize the chat rooms a bit. Do you fancy one room over another?

It depends. I manage the entire chat platform and moderate 60+ but I do like a few channels more than some others for sure. :)

Wow thanks for your community service!

Thanks sara, I needed an easy posture today hahah

You're welcome! It's great to mix it up!

Oh wow, this is my favorite daily stretch! Never knew the benefits to detox. Thank you for the download <3

That's one of the awesome things about yoga: you can reap all the benefits without knowing a single thing about the science behind it! It's plenty to do what feels great and natural for your body, but there's plenty more to nerd out on if you're into it!

Looking forward to seeing you at SteemFest!

Yes, it will be a blast! I hope @everlove will join us and we can play play play!!

You lucky ducks! Going to SteemFest and all!

Come with us @brianphobos--you like adventures!

No rocks walls to climb or canyons in Amsterdam, he wouldn't like it!

Thanks for sharing such valuable posts!

You're welcome!

I'm so happy to hear that!

Breathing the most important part of everything - to calm down, to be in the moment of now, to feel your body, to stop thoughts...Thank you @saramiller for remaining. To breathe. Deep and slow.

Ahhhhh, it all starts with the breath!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19