How to Yoga - Seated Twist

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians!

You have shared valuable treasures with me

and expanded my horizons,

so I want to reciprocate in gratitude.

I bring yoga in thanks 

for the great inspiration and motivation 

you have ignited in me.

This practice drastically changed my life, healing me 

in ways I couldn't have imagined or believed 

had I not experienced them for myself.

I wish the same miracles for you!


This one goes out to @the-stoned-ape who requested suggestions for sciatica: may you find pain relief and more! 


This is Seated Twist

AKA Seated Spinal Twist

AKA Ardha Matsyendrasana in Sanskrit

(ardha = half, matsya = fish, indra = king/lord, asana = pose/posture--

Matsyendra is a figure from Indian lore, a devotee of Shiva and yogi)


Seated twist can reset your whole body.


This is another yummy pose for the hips,

the crossroads between upper and lower body,

where major nerves and arteries run

and energies can get stuck.

Focused hip stretches release a lot of gunk.


And it's so much more!

While you stretch up and down the spine,

calm the mind, strengthen 

strength in the chest and shoulders,

and rotate from front to back,

this is another time

to look within.


With a twist, you give your internal organs a good squeeze.

Hold the pose and direct your breath,

and you'll build up a super potent dam of 

prana in the midsection

that flushes through the whole system upon release,

a full on rush of dear sweet oxygen. 


You really can pull in life force and direct it where you need it most.


How to SEATED TWIST:

  • From seated, draw left foot towards right sit bone. 
  • Cross right foot over left knee, with sole of foot on the ground. 
  • Twist the body to the right, crossing the left elbow to the outside of the right knee. 
  • Use the elbow against knee for leverage to deepen the twist. 
  • Sit up tall, maintaining extension in the upper body. 
  • With inhales, bring length to the spine.
  • With exhales, twist a little deeper. 
  • Switch sides when you are ready.
  • Rejoice.

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.

Healing knows no bounds.  


💛 Sara!

infinite thanks to the ever lovely @everlove for the photo


P.S. We make fully custom EPIC Steemit Ts!

Sort:  

Another upvote for @saramiller!!!! Keep on breathing that life force energy into Steemit!! Everyone will benefit from your practice. Thank god for Sara!

It's the gift that keeps on giving if everyone can benefit from what I love to do! Thank god for @everlove!

Yoga moves and practices are a fantastic way to begin to integrate yoga as a way of life!
Thanks for sharing content of life improving value with the steemit community!

Absolutely, postures are just one way to slip into the oneness of yoga!
Thank you for all of your support @quinneaker--I truly would not be who I am today without your unwavering dedication to improving life for everyone!

Love, I added different twists all the time to help detox and lose weight. Really works, some of my favorites.

Me too! They are very simple, but very powerful.

Just got done going through your blog and you have a new follower :)

Your alignment is wonderful, and what you do is likewise awesome. You are an inspirational person, and I hope you get to those pyramids soon :)

Thank you very much! I am honored by your encouraging words, and I'm grateful you're here!

Thanks Sara ! Nice to welcome you to our #mammasittas rocket chat and support group

Awesome, thank you Sara!

I have started Yoga fairly recently, I have taken a few poses from friends who are teachers, and I'm always looking for more. I was just thinking about classes as I did my morning routine about an hour ago.

So please post more; this is fantastic :-)

Cg

You are so welcome! It is truly my pleasure to share. Please let me know if there's anything specific I can address for you!
💛 Sara!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34