How to Yoga - Revolved High Lunge

in #health8 years ago

Good day, Steemians!

“Do your practice and all is coming.” ~ Sri K Patthabi Jois.

The Japanese concept of kaizen
means perpetual improvement;
it is an intention towards constant evolution.
I love to have physical projects
to mark my progress--
sometimes the intangibles I compose in the ether
feel incomplete without
fruition in the material realm.
I can emerge after a day in the digital world
to find seemingly little changed around me,
and wonder where the time went.
I can stress myself out and feel unaccomplished over it,
or I can trust that my efforts will pay off,
adjust my need for success to look a certain way,
and chill out, knowing I am continually
getting better and better at the skills I choose to practice.
Yoga is an excellent measure of kaizen for me;
I balance immeasurable mental and spiritual movement
against changes in my physical body
and feel complete.
I share my yoga practice so you too can know the
satisfaction of kaizen.

This is Revolved High Lunge

AKA Twisted Crescent Lunge
AKA Parivrtta Anjaneyasana in Sanskrit
(parivrtta = revolved, anjaneya = praise/salutation, asana = pose/posture)

Revolved high lunge develops stamina and balance.

This pose stimulates manipura, the third chakra.
This metaphysical energy center aligns with
a bundle of nerves called the solar plexus,
the wellspring of confidence and courage.

Tune into the changes in the material body--
the stretch in the quads, hips, thighs, and abs,
and notice how it corresponds to subtler levels of energy--
do you feel invigorated? vitalized? strengthened?

This can be an intense move for the body--
you'll need endurance to carry on,
but everything you need can be found in the breath.
Stilling the mind and feeling the breath
makes it easier to connect to the balance between
form and energy, to look past the physical challenge to
get to the juicy abstractions.

Twisting across the body equalizes both sides of the brain.
After a pose like this, maybe powerful physical improvement
is not the only proof you will have of development.

How to REVOLVED HIGH LUNGE:

  • From down dog, step the right foot forward between the hands; knee comes to 90 ish degree angle.
  • Plant the left hand, inhale, and extend the right arm towards the sky, stacking the shoulders.
  • Gaze follows the right finger tips.
  • Lift the back thigh.
  • Extend through the back foot.
  • Inhales bring length through the spine, exhales twist a little deeper.

Breathe in, breathe out.

Breathe in, breathe out.

Breathe in, breathe out.

Give thanks for all that brought you here!




💛 Sara!
Thank you to the ever lovely @everlove for the lovely photo
We can make custom Steemit gear fit for a king!





All SBD generated from upvotes are dedicated towards my trip to Amsterdam, where I will teach yoga at STEEMFEST! I want to deeply thank this community for all the support you have shown me, with a special shout out to @roelandp for his excellent work in organizing this festival for us all! Have you ordered your Steemfest ticket yet??

Sort:  

Steem OM!! ૐ

Thank you for the reminder that all is well, to feel and to breathe.

You're welcome!

This is really good stuff @saramiller!! Yogi your way to Steemfest!!

...and people think that Yoga is just stretching.

Silly westerners! There's a whole world to be discovered in yoga!!

One of my very favorite postures. Especially with the bind...stretches my low back like nothing else. Namaste

Mmmm this is a yummy stretch for sure! And all the different arm variations can give it a completely different flavor!

Another great post of REAL value!

Thank you for seeing it!

Yoga looks fun. Never tried.
Upvoted. Namaste.

It's great fun! Maybe you can try it today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63