How to Yoga - One Legged Seated Spinal TwiststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #health8 years ago

Good day, Steemians!

When the student is ready, the teacher will appear. -- attributed to the Buddha


I'm super new to cryptocurrency, and
I'm totally smitten.
This is the revolution--
it's an honorable system of money,
and I'm thrilled that it exists!
I want to know everything I can.
I'm google searching and youtubing and reading on Steemit,
and I'm hoping a mentor materializes before me.
This is a great community;
the people I've reached out to have been
very gracious in sharing their resources and references.
Everything I learn reveals more things I don't know;
it's so awesome. I love learning so much!!
It reminds me of when I fell in love with yoga;
I couldn't get enough.
In thanks for everything there is to know,
I'm going to continue sharing my own wealth of knowledge.
Yoga is revolutionary too; you'll have to try it to see.
I hope you will incorporate it to your daily routine,
and wish that you will be healthier and happier than ever before! 



This is One Legged Seated Spinal Twist

AKA Pose Dedicated to the Sage Marichi

AKA Marichyasana III in Sanskrit

(marichi = ray of light, asana = pose/posture) 


This is another yummy stretch that benefits the entire organism.


In Hindu tradition, the sage Marichi was a son of Brahma the creator.
He was a seer (rishi), a leader of the storm gods, and a protector of the dharma
(the order of the universe) and is considered the father of humanity.
This pose goes out to him!

Twists are like massages for the internal organs.
This is super simple but does so much good for the body:
it stretches the spine and shoulders,
lowers blood pressure and heart rate,
induces relaxation,
and can relieve constipation,
digestive problems, asthma, fatigue
lower backache, sciatica, and menstrual discomfort.

It's said that this pose can destroy a range of diseases,
and that it releases the kundalini energy stored at the base of the spine.
The energetic and spiritual dimensions are accessed
by calming the mind and melting into the space created in the body.
Asanas, by definition of the Yoga Sutras, are
"that which is steady and comfortable";
the body knows where to go, but sometimes the mind gets all caught up.

Twists can squeeze the breath, and for beginners
this can feel uncomfortable.
The remedy is to bring awareness to the breath's flow
giving the mind something to focus on while the body
does its thing.
Bam, organism calmed and depths of yoga practice engaged!
It really is that easy if you get out of your own way.


How to ONE LEGGED SEATED SPINAL TWIST:

  • From seated with legs extended, draw the right foot in and plant the sole inside the left thigh.
  • Cross the left elbow to the outside of the right knee.
  • Bring the right hand to the ground behind you.
  • With legs fully active, twist from the base of the spine, then the belly, then the chest, shoulders, neck, and head towards the right.
  • Maintain extension in the upper body, lifting through the chest and extending through the crown of the head; slouching compresses the whole pose.
  • With each inhale, bring in length, and with each exhale, twist deeper.
  • If you want to go for the bind, wrap the left hand around the right leg and reach the left hand behind the back.

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.





💛 Sara!
And now I shall give thanks because it makes me feel good:

  • Thank you @quinneaker for everything you have done for me, and everything you share with me.
  • Thank you for the photo @everlove, and for the excellent example you set for me every day.
  • I'm so grateful that Steemit exists, that it brought my awareness to cryptocurrency, and that this community actually DOES stuff to make a difference in this world. It's super inspiring, because I thought @gardenofeden was the only group of people who truly gave a damn about the world. Thanks to everyone who developed and created this so I can play here!



Sort:  

I do this daily, pre workout :)

Awesome! This one is really classic. In ashtanga, it's taken towards the middle of a primary series practice:

Oh cool, yeah I do a bunch of these (more like 80% of them actually, almost in this order hmm) Pre work out and before going on runs :)

Ohh, that turned me in all the right places! Thanks again for showing us this epicness!

Grateful to be of service!

This pose is great. Feeling soo much better since I started praticing yoga

I'm really glad to hear that! I appreciate our daily sessions :)

UV for you Sara! I remember how excited I was last week when I found out you lived at the Garden of Eden. I did not know if you recall LOL.

I was looking for something today, and when I saw this, I immediately thought of you. Have a nice day.

Thank you so much, Barry! I'm really blessed to be part of the GOE - it's a constant reminder that life gets better and better every single day! I'm so grateful for all the support you've shown me, and I hope you have a great day too!

Music is nice for practice! Here's something to listen to:

Xavier Rudd - Come Let Go

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01