How to Yoga - ChaturangasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians!

We rise by lifting others. -- Robert Ingersoll


At the Urban Traders Market yesterday, I saw a dude from across the way
wearing a t-shirt that said "Bought with Bitcoin", and I got super stoked.
I ran over to take a picture with him
only to find that not only is it someone I recognize from
having come to the gate at the @gardenofeden for more info on our ecovillage,
but he's on Steemit and regularly follows us!!
He was incredibly shy at first, which I disregarded because dammit
I'mma talk about cryptocurrency (and/or Steemit, knives, iodine, & yoga)
with anyone who will listen, and it led to a conversation on  
life at the GOE, the new economy, and honor and integrity.
He relaxed, obviously relieved, and revealed he has no one to talk to;
he acknowledged that maybe he wasn't just socially awkward, that maybe
he simply can't relate to anything anyone talks about in the matrix.
I'm so so grateful for this exchange for a lot of reasons:
#1 I thank my stars to live with a group of awake, capable individuals
who discuss meaningful topics, hone values, and limit bullshit;
#2 He said that had I not approached him because of his shirt,
he wouldn't have had the guts to talk to us; and
#3 He told us the conversation changed his life!
He realized that he's not alone, and walked away
aware of and inspired by possibilities.
It was the most successful part of my day!
Cryptocurrency is a gateway to significant connections
that may reunify our broken society in more ways than one.
It is a restoration of hope,
and I am so grateful to share the good word!
Yoga is a similar treasure that can revolutionize existence.
In gratitude, I will continue to share my love-
may you be inspired by the depths that unfold before you!


This is Chaturanga

AKA Four Limbed Staff Pose

AKA Low Plank

AKA Yogi Push Up 

AKA Chaturanga Dandasana in Sanskrit

(chatur = four, anga = limb, danda = staff, asana = pose/posture)

I almost never hear this pose identified in English.


Chaturanga is foundational and a primo opportunity for improvement.


This pose is practiced numerous times in
an ashtanga series or vinyasa flow,
as it is elemental to sun salutations.
Thank heavens for that, because it deserves
some attention and refinement.

In the beginning of my yoga practice,
I dreaded chaturanga, and the anticipation of it crowded out  
appreciation for the 2-3 poses that came beforehand in series.
I struggled with it; it takes a lot of upper body and core strength,
and I don't like to do things I'm not good at. 
Thankfully, the body adapts quickly and I've learned to like it
for its deeper benefits too.

It's a great practice for presence and being
exactly where you are  
rather than looking ahead.
It develops patience, as it takes some time and effort
to train correct alignment into the body.  
It's beneficial for letting go of expectations.  
It's also incredible for tapping into strength  
physically, mentally, and spiritually.

Eventually I overheard someone say that chaturanga is the resting pose,
meaning look at it not as a challenge but as the place you come to for rejuvenation,
and it totally flipped my whole perspective.
It's amazing what a few choice words can do!


How to CHATURANGA:

  • From plank position, roll forward on the balls of the feet. Hands will be under the chest.
  • Exhale, squeeze the elbows in close to the body, and lower.
  • Hover over the ground, elbows bent at a 90 degree angle.
  • Engage the muscles of the back body for steadiness; press through the heels.
  • Look forward or down, and relax the skin on the face. 
  • Masochists can hold this pose for as long as they wish, but it's usually practiced in flow - exhale into it, and inhale into upward facing dog.
  • Keep your butt low; there's a tendency to hike up, especially amongst beginners. The spine stays in a straight line (hence "staff"). 
  • Shoulders stay in line with or higher than the elbows; better too high than drooping down.
  • If this is challenging, drop your knees to practice half chaturanga with the same upper body alignment. There's no such thing as "winning" or "losing" in yoga; you are where you are. If you need to drop your knees to build strength, then be honest with yourself and considerate of your body. Maintain integrity without letting the core sag.

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.




💛 Sara!
P.S. We offer hand painted Steemit gear through @steemrollin's honorable Peerhub Marketplace.

Giving thanks feels great, so I'll do it some more:

  • I watch @quinneaker have profound effects on almost everyone he meets, and it inspires me to inspire others. I am so grateful for the high standards he sets, his dedication to truth, and his willingness to talk about subjects like honor and value as freely as others discuss the weather. It's huge to me to have someone to look up to, and I am absolutely blessed to know such a stellar being.
  • Thank you for the photo, @everlove! Thank you for the laughs! Thank you for holding space for me to evolve and grow; thank you for all the chances you have given me to be my best self. I have grown so much from your example of unconditional love and support! 
  • @steemit I LOVE YOU I LOVE YOU I LOVE YOU FUCK I FUCKING LOVE YOU!!! Talk about inspiration! I've learned about a whole new world from our time together, and I'm totally ignited by the potential you bring. Thank you, computer wizards! I want to name names, but that's an extensive list even and I probably don't even know that many of you. Do you like to see your names in posts? I sure like to see your names, and I send you tons of love & light when I do! You won't get any notification anyway, so today I'll just send it through the ether that I'm so grateful you're sharing your creation ❤
  • Thank you, Eden Knights - I'm thankful I'm not alone!



Sort:  

What a truly great day this was--definitely one of the most inspiring parts of it was meeting our new friend Brett who is already on Steemit and upping our posts. It feels great to connect and let others know they are not alone, as we are here too, holding space for the unfolding of the new paradigm.

I had the opportunity to talk with many people at this event, sharing the inspiration that flows through the @gardenofeden. I shared the power of Steemit with many and feel we will have new people join this platform who will contribute content of value.

Thank you for the shout-out @saramiller. I am grateful for you everyday and for the support and generosity you give me and the @gardenofeden. I am grateful for our together laughter, for your high vibe, your office/managerial skills and your height!!! I am blessed to co-create with you and to be around people who are reliable and gracious. Thank you for being you and for recognizing the example of @quinneaker, who sets the standards high for us all.

OMG I'm Brett! And I'm saving this photo =) I am blessed to be a part of a family who encourages me and accepts me for who I am. I am blessed to have a friend who listens to my wild ideas and knows my good intentions. With their support I am able to continue the search for my true self, which feels isolating and exciting at the same time.

I'm so thrilled to discover people who are living a life of sustainability and consistency, like the beautiful beings at the Garden of Eden! I am always looking for more examples of freedom like Ross Ulbricht, who is live streaming right now to raise funds for his ongoing legal battle.

Thank you Sara for the photo, thank you Shellie, Sara, and Matthew for the inspiring conversations and warm welcome. YOGA ON!

OMG hi Brett!!!! I'm so glad you stopped by :)

Thank you for sharing yourself with us. Looking forward to more inspiring conversations with you!

Well done Sara, I was reading somewhere that feeling isolated is the first sign that you are awake. He is welcome to the club!

Connecting with like-minded, empowered individuals is much more meaningful after you've felt alone. Giving thanks!!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.64 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 04 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hey there @screenname. Thanks for sharing your data, although I was kinda hoping not to see much more of you and instead get consistent rewards...

What a seriously inspiring story, and a beautiful surprise to find in the post, a bonus. Thank you.

You're welcome! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

That was inspiring, thanks!

BTW, yoga was included in the UNESCO list as an "Intangible" world heritage this week. So do what you do, and be happy! :)

That's awesome! Grateful to share the heritage 🙏

Always on my mind:
Matisyahu - One Day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32