You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A World Where Not Reporting an Illness is a Crime

in #health6 years ago

Now this is an interesting question and I will certainly watch this!

I don't think vaccines have been shown to be really dangerous and I feel a lot of the fear of them not really based on the data we have about them. But the question of how much one is willing to limit freedom for the public good still stands and weights a lot.

Living in a world where sickness is much rarer sounds like a great thing to me, even if you have to disinfect your hands regularly and wear a mask. The antiutopia and danger start taking shape only when your freedom to make your own mistakes becomes much more limited. We are a species of risk takers and we need to be allowed to take some risk. I really don't know where the balance on that scale is when it comes to health. I would certainly say that when your actions endanger the health of others, you have some responsibility and liability should not be out of the questions. Now is just being sick enough of risk for others to significantly hamper your freedom. I don't know and in many cases I would say no. But possibly not in all.

On the scientific side of things, not being exposed to any germs would probably leave our immune systems less developed and therefore more vulnerable. A world that's absolutely disinfected would be full of allergies and autoimmune disorders.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62