Foods to Eat for Great Skin and Some Personal Advice For Acne

in #health7 years ago (edited)

                                            

Having healthy skin is just as important as having great internal health.  There are certain foods that can make your skin healthier.  You can get that glow in your face back that you have always enjoyed and with the correct foods help fight acne.  The next time you go grocery shopping you need to look out for these foods that will help you achieve near perfect skin. 

Foods that Promote Skin Health  

If you love fruits then you are going to be thrilled about this.  Strawberries are actually great for your skin. Strawberries have tons of vitamin C. when you eat strawberries you are protecting your skin from the effects of aging. A study showed that people who ate foods loaded with vitamin C have fewer wrinkles and healthier looking skin. 

Broccoli is also a great promoter of skin health.  It has large amounts of vitamin E in it.  The vitamin E in broccoli will help protect your skin and keeps it soft.  It also has the benefits of keeping your skin protected from UV rays.  Sun damage is a common occurrence if you are outdoors often.  So if you are planning an outdoor trip such as camping be sure to eat your broccoli!    

Carrots are a great snacking option for healthy skin.  When you eat carrots, you will be ingesting vitamin A. this vitamin will help keep your skin healthy and fresh looking as it also repairs damaged cells and keeps your face looking vibrant and soft.  It is great for protecting your skin from the harmful rays of the sun.  They are a low-calorie snack that you can enjoy raw, or cooked, and still receive the benefits.    

Consuming pumpkin seeds can make your skin look good as new.  They are high in zinc which will protect your skin cells from damage as it also promotes cell renewal and will give your skin a youthful, fresh appearance. Pumpkin seeds can be eaten in multiple ways.  The versatility is what makes them so easy to add into your diet. 

                                        

Foods high in zinc

The number one foods for fighting acne are rich in zinc and can be found in seafood, such as oysters or clams, these foods are high in zinc which is proven to help control the hormones that activate acne.  Having a healthy diet rich in vitamins and minerals is crucial to keeping your skin beautiful.  The body will use all of these vitamins and minerals to repair, and restore your skin.    

It can be an odd adjustment to make but once you change your diet around you will see results almost immediately.  It will help promote your skin in such a way that you do not have to worry about wrinkles and skin imperfections.  These foods are all known to help promote healthy skin and healthy skin means a healthy inside.  When you are healthy you will live a more fulfilling life.  Many other foods can repair your skin, I would love to hear what foods have helped heal your skin!  

                             

On a side note growing up in my late teens, I had cystic acne.  I went to every doctor and tried everything, including putting my body through Accutane, which came with instructions the size of a phone book!  Nothing worked and the Accutane took years to get out of my system and messed up my joints for months.  Then a friend of mine recommended aloe juice.  I was shocked with the results, drinking about 4oz of whole leaf organic aloe juice cleared my skin up in one month.  So the lesson I learned was that sometimes nature holds the best-kept secrets to healing our bodies.  I hope this helps out a few people who have acne.


Source: http://www.acne.org/

I hope you enjoyed.  Please Upvote, Resteem, and Follow me @road2wisdom

    

Sort:  

Thank You for sharing. I appreciate the healthy updates. Your family should be so lucky to have such a forward thinking guardian of good health. Not only are you living well, but sharing such wisdom with others. Cheers to VG for uniting us all. I look forward to the day that i juggle all my silly commitments and it affords me a Whole Foods lifestyle again. It's funny, we just installed a new refrigerator for my Grandmother. But it's still full of butter, sugars, meats, and mass produced items. It is a battle. I hear her choking at all hours of the night and day. I can not tell if she is getting better or worse. Sometimes I think the choking is to get attention. Other times I have found her choking on food and had to help her slow down. Half her food is on the floor after she eats. I finally got her eating kiwis a few times a week. But she is still addicted to crisco, hot dogs, and white breads, and it's no wonder we have to take her to the doctors 3-4 times a month. All they do is give her more pills that make her zone out in front of the tv. Just battled the Aunt on how we need to just let her live/die the way she wants. It's hard helping someone so set in their ways. The best we can do is move on. Help those willing to listen.
.
When I lived on a cruise ship, we had lots of free food, but it was then that i discovered Forks Over Knives and I never looked back. We would stop in Seatle once a week and I would load up the little fridge in my cabin. Lemon, Ginger, Carrots, Apples, Avocados, and the list goes on with fruits, greens, and veggies. Turmeric, Cayenne, Comfrey, Horsetail, Ginseng, herbs. Yerba matte & green teas. I'll admit I do miss a fresh light roast coffee. But the healthy living is empowering. Forks Over Knives and Infinite Waters Diving Deep. Two terms to search for any other healthy minded souls.
.
Thank you again for these empowering compendiums of health for those searching for real medicine and real alternatives for healing.

Wow, @jacobts you are very progressive. Thanks for sharing - We will chat later :)

Aleo Vera is very powerful. Im eaten it for years and I also put it on burns and bumps on my skin. I sometimes purchase the drink already processed and drink it. Thanks for posting this information on taking care of one's skin. Have you thought about the effects that water (dirty or chemicals) have on your skin when you shower? Amazon sells a product ($35) to place on your shower head to filter all these harmful chemicals in our water. Thanks again!

Hi @carolynseymour thanks for taking the time to comment. Yes, I have one of those shower heads where I change the filter inside about once every 3 months. Thanks for sharing :)

You're welcome!

Most inspiring comment i ever read. Damn better then many posts even

That is kind of you to say. I should be posting more. But life is so crazy. Just happy for windows to appreciate posts like this. All the best to you.

Thank you for the info

This was a very helpful article. Thanks.

I am using moringa powder since a few weeks now. It has lots of nutritional values and doesn't taste that bad. Should be good for something right, @road2wisdom you should check it out ;)

great post though

Hi yes it's very good for you🙂it's an overall good supplement to take. 🌞

Ive found the best solution for clear skin, especially if you deal with acne issues is to drink a LOT of water, have no sugar at all in your diet, i know that part might be tough, but just drinking water and tea (as opposed to juice or soda) has cleared up my face in weeks

make sure to eat tons of lean protein, salmon and chicken breast and have vegetables be a part of every meal

Seafood is my favourite zinc supplementation - preferably in Italy, Greece or Australia - some of the best seafood in the world is found there :D

Hi @mindhunter thanks for your reply yes the seafood in Greece is fresh right out of the ocean to your plate lol

right out of the ocean to your plate

WOW! That's faster than pressing buttons! Hee-hee! :)

hahaaa

Whooooa! 727 SP and rising :)

Incredible article from you. These are really good ideas and tips. I'm going to look for some oysters, clams, pumpkin seeds next time I shop and find whole leaf organic aloe juice. You like pomegranate juice? I heard it's super healthy. I drink it everyday

Thanks @businesswri how have you been? Did you take a break for a few days?

Yes, I went on vacation :) I made a post about it - https://steemit.com/steemit/@businesswri/dear-friends-i-will-be-gone-businesswri-is-going-camping , though I'm glad to be back. All is well. How've you been?

Great info good post.

interesting info. May I suggest that meat and dairy products are not the best source of protein, even if they do contain Zinc because their metabolism is producing a lot of acidic waste that the organism has to get rid of consuming the minerals that you are stocking in your bones and teeth. I upvote. Thanks for sharing. In my blog, I explain how to supplement your food. I would appreciate your visit and your comments.

YW and thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.36
ETH 3407.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47