You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Not Saying this to be a dick, but I don't think you're ready to do this" - Am I just a hobbyist filmmaker?

in #health7 years ago

Hi @vincentnijman this is a good example of how movie making experience with others is. I was also a director for a 13 episodes animation series and was really working hard on it, travel a lot between two countries in Asia distant of 7000 km and make all possible to get the best team with world class standard to the best price. The company who hired me was a multinational from the US. I work from the really beginning of the project, the writing, character creation, art developments, story board and the first animation test, render and much more. One day the marketing head calls me and show me some proof that the studio manager and the top secretary have used about 150.000US for they own enrichment, they were sure nobody will never notice it. The studio manager had bought a Volvo car and the secretary had a new house. At that time the American boss producer was out for a month. As soon as I learn about that the studio manager fired the marketing head and he asks me to not come to the studio until the producer from the US came back. The day he arrives I got to the studio and police arrive and immigration and they start to make trouble for non existing things to the producer. So by the end i have learned by phone that I was kicked out and that the producer was under big corruption pressure from the head of the studio. So my take on that was just don't let shit disturb your life even if it is big. You're still alive and keep calm this is not the end of the world. Keep calm what ever you'll get a better chance after.

Sort:  

Wow! What an experience. Your story sounds like something that you can make a movie about.
Even though my project was micro budget (with a tiny m), I am sure you feel me on this.

This movie started out as a fun project with a lot of improv, to be shot on the island where I was staying. It slowly grew more and more complicated, I left the island, there was no money, people had no time. I could hardly take care of myself (at least financially), so how could I take care of others? It started to change into a behemoth, fun disappeared and I could not re-discover it. Instead of letting this overtake me, I decided to step back.

Thanks for your kind words/ concern. I won't let it overcome me. Can't say I feel relieved yet, it's still fresh, but I am sure I will feel better tomorrow and this experience will only make me stronger.

I am curious, did you stop filmmaking after what happened to you?

Happy to hear that you will go forward, this industry is very like that and not only in Hollywood but every where even in the no budget field there is always one guy who has an ego too big and make a shit of others. In my case, I get many other opportunities and has traveled all around Asia doing what I like and never stop doing it. My next project is for August next year and it will be my first feature to be shot in the wild as a war movie (real story) and already get the full support of the army who will be in the movie. Don't give up on your dream just keep on doing it and opportunities will always come to passionate people like us. After that story, i just feel like that is bad for them because they never finish the first season of the series. I follow you and who knows may be one day we will be on the same set. Anyways if one day you coming around south east Asia let me know. Keep on making what you're made for and don't let assholes break your dream. Regards

Hi @ricko66

Yeah, I might step back every now and then and quit a project, but stuff like this happened to me often enough to not let it take me down. It's actually the opposite. Stepping back gives me back my strength, something that was slowly draining from me in the process. An experience like this will actually make me stronger.

I have this tendency to let other people walk over me and suddenly I don't feel like the director anymore. I am always looking for a balance, but find it hard to set boundaries. When I realize they are overstepped, it's often too late. Harm is already done.

I am not calling this guy an asshole, we were friends for 4 years. I was the first person who actually tried to turn one of his screenplays into a feature and he had another one ready. A story that I like(d) a lot! Now the project is falling apart.

Anyway, we talked about it and in the end, he did not want to give me the space that I need to work on this, so that meant the end of our collaboration.

Glad to hear that you didn't give up either and have a big project like that coming up. Traveling Asia sounds pretty amazing. I myself have never been outside Europe but I feel that is definitely going to change. Perhaps thanks to Steemit?

I honestly feel that I should focus on smaller stuff right now to recharge my batteries and find back the fun. Who knows, perhaps the smaller stuff is actually what fits me better. Time will tell!

Hi @vincentnijman you want to concentrate on a smaller size project and this is fine. As a director on the set, you have the weights of every thing big and small on your shoulder and need to be more authoritarian than others to not get be eat by them and their problem. It can sound a little hard sometimes but it is your vision that is now shot and what ever problems each other in the team has to deal with, this is their job to make it work not yours. But I understand you have to get out from this project and refocus on other with a better strength. There is a very good example of a guy who success very big in Hollywood today, here is his youtube channel and all his own project was made with no budget but in a clever way, check all his videos there is a lot to take from him https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCp1DqwNVcFrft1wuPXM9rFQ
And no worry time will give you better opportunity. Peace and Happiness

I agree with you. The thing is, I wasn't even on set and I already had too many weight on my shoulders. too many responsibilities and all the different tasks actually made it very hard to keep track of my vision.

Thanks for the link. I will definitely check it out. I remember vaguely having heard of this guy. Very interesting!

Thanks again for the kind words and keep in touch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59117.70
ETH 2597.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43