You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Neuroscience of Memory Formation.

in #health7 years ago

I was really pleased to find this article which I will read more carefully later. The development of neuroscience has changed so much in my initial field of hypnotherapy (particularly with regard to the myths around using hypnosis for memory recovery). I am also just starting a masters degree in psychology and am interested in how the current research can inform personal development approaches such as mindfulness. My only caveat would be that the research in general seems to be carried out from a 'mind is an emergent phenomenon of brain' presupposition which, for me doesn't fly.

I look forward to reading more of your work.

Sort:  

Yes, the progression of neuroscience/psychology is very exciting! I too am interested in mindfulness, which of course doesn't require a scientific understanding of the brain to experience. Neuroscience in many ways runs in parallel with the "a-scientific" approaches to discovering the mind, with lots of space for the two approaches to positively influence each other. I don't believe there is a definitive answer on the mind-body problem or whether 'mind is an emergent phenomenon of brain,' but I'm interested to hear what your views are there.

I haven't thought through what I think, so thank you for the opportunity to start doing that. I think it starts with the idea of a 'paradigm' and the concept that a new paradigm must both explain what is already known and be able to explain some of what isn't known.

So looking at a model that incorporates spiritual techniques and maps (such as Buddhist based mindfulness, and my current interest, the so called Three Principles Approach) and the scientific research so that our understanding of 'consciousness' is enriched in a way that actually makes a difference to the way we experience life and so live.

It's a beginning!

I think having a balanced perspective is good. The scientific process can and has revealed much about our brains, but not yet a whole lot on our consciousness. I don't believe consciousness is beyond the purview of science, but we aren't there yet. Intuitive, self-contemplative methods of approaching an understanding of our mind are certainly very useful for our well being. Mindfulness can provide real benefits to those who practice. I haven't heard of the Three Principles Approach, so thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61083.24
ETH 2670.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61