TO Love and be Loved is the GREATEST!

in #health5 years ago

Heya ALL you Steemit Crew,

The best feeling in the world is LOVE. It is what keeps everything going and it is the essence of what we are.

In my early years, I was filled with self-hate and shame and this is because I was told that I was worthless and useless. We don't choose our parents and we have to understand that they are doing the best they can based on what they know.

It wasn't until I was in my late 30's that I understood that we can reprogram our minds and we can actually heal from abuse that we have experienced in the past. It was helpful for me to learn that we are all deserving of self-respect and love and I could learn to value and appreciate who I am.

That seemed like a mighty task at the time, when someone told me about how I could become a stronger person with self-love. I really thought they were full of it and that if they only knew me they would never think I could become a strong and loving person.

An exercise that really helped me was writing down all the traumatic events on paper in detail, then burning them in a can and through burning them, you release all the pain and move on from that chapter in your life.

Another helpful exercise was positive affirmations, such as "I love and approve of myself, Peace and Harmony indwell me and surround me at all times, I am healthy, wealthy and wise." I would look into the mirror and tell myself I loved myself and I forgive myself and others who have hurt me.

Sometimes a voice would come in my head and tell me again, I was useless and I would doubt myself. I wouldn't resist this voice, but instead of identifying with this voice, I would become an observer and understand that I am not that voice, but rather the witness of that voice and I could then tell that voice that it is wrong and I love myself.

It's important to surround yourself with people who uplift you and support you and live a healthy lifestyle.

Following The Medicine Wheel Teachings of the Indigenous, I strive to be in balance, Mentally, Physically, Emotionally and Spiritually. I have learned so much the Indigenous culture and I am very thankful for these incredible teachings.

I love to stay fit and keep my body tight and toned. I love to feel strong physically as well as mentally.

I had a wonderful mentor who helped me learn about healthy living and becoming a good person, loving and kind. He was a lot older than me and he was very wise. It's good to seek out those who have experience and hold the knowledge about how to live a good life.

Once I healed from the pain, and love entered my heart, I felt complete and restored to my natural state. It was only when I began to love myself, that I was capable of loving another because before I loved myself, I would always seek to find someone to give me the love that I never felt inside and I was very needy and weak.

Love makes us strong and feel complete. Love comes from the Creator and he made us in LOVE and to be loved and loving.

If we had more love in the world, we would be living very differently together. WE need to come back to LOVe.

Jesse

Sort:  

Congratulations @redskyblue! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87