Don't forget the small things....

in #health5 years ago

Shout out to all you,

Sometimes life can feel really awful and make you feel very unhappy and like you are not getting anywhere and everything sucks.

There are days when you can wake up and feel so tired about having to face another day perhaps because you don't like what you have to do that day and if you have a really dreadful job that you must do in order to pay the bills.

Luckily for me, I do have a job that I really enjoy, but it can be demanding and it takes a lot of energy. Although I love to help people, sometimes it takes a lot of strength to be able to help others through their trauma. When you hear painful stories about what others have gone through, it can hurt your heart and make you feel sadness.

In order to be able to help others, you must be in good mental state yourself because as they say, you can't help anyone unless you help yourself first.

When I wake up and feel sadness or any negative feeling, I find it very helpful to give thanks for everything I have, no matter how small it appears to be.

For instance, I say i'm thankful I can see, i'm thankful my body is healthy and I can move around easily, i'm thankful I can breathe, and so on.

Sometimes we take things for granted and only appreciate them when they are gone. I know when I used to get sick, I would think man, I should have been thankful for feeling healthy because it is such a blessing.

Then you can move to the things that truly lift your life up, like your family. I'm so thankful for my wife and son because they give me strength and inspiration to continue on a good path.

Often we can take our loved ones for granted and not let them know how much they mean to us. Then one day, they might not be around and we might feel regret for not letting them know how much we truly loved them, and how important the are in our lives.

As a former addict, I have to ensure that I never get dragged down that path again and once you are an addict, you have the potential to be tempted again. Working with the homeless population brings me in contact with people suffering from addiction. When I hear their personal stories it can be triggering for me, if I do not look after myself and ensure that I am taking care of myself and my well-being.

I always talk to co-workers if I feel the need to release anything i'm holding inside.

When I am feeling down, praying gives me strength and helps me to restore my peace of mind. Do not underestimate the power in praying because we have to ask for help when we need it.

I have to exercise and this releases tension and helps me maintain a sense of balance in my body and mind. I have a gym in my building, so I take full advantage of that. I also love to jog or walk outside on trails and breathe in the fresh air.

It's so important that we take care of ourselves and self-care is crucial in being a healthy person who is able to help others in a beneficial way.

With many thanks,
J

Sort:  

Gratitude is a state of bliss that we are programed to ignore. A thoughtful post in sharing this medicine that is the cure for dis-ease.

So very true. The link between health and mind-set cannot be ignored and this is something that I learned from my dear friend. Before this, I was sick, miserable with a terrible mind-set. Once I understood to not take things for granted, my life turned completely around. Have a wonderful day and thanks so much for reaching out.

Congratulations @redskyblue! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78