Just say Hello

in #health6 years ago (edited)
Old books are full of…, yes, knowledge of course. Still, there is more behind the wraps. Old books are full of all that words one may need at some point in their life. When I was 8 years old, my schoolmates would compete who will treat us at the beginning of the class with chocolates. Usually, it would be a birthday, or even worse – the day one of them would celebrate their name. A name celebration, for crying out loud! The Ghost of necessity to have a day for my name emerged in no particular shape and format in my life to pursuit of me for many years ahead…until.

"The old man took a leather book with iron edges and clutch, blew the dust from its surface and look at me in a very profound manner."

I was quite disturbed because of the obvious impossibility to bring chocolates at school until the day my mother paid a visit to one of her patients and decided to bring me and my brother with her. The old family lived in a cheery two-floor Secession house and entering into their living room was like a museum tour. No. Better. It was like going back to 1925. Indeed.

Cookies and tea were served on the heavy table cloth just to pay a compliment to the exquisite vase with spring flowers. That day there were other visitors too. The vibrant, bodacious brunette was clearly the mother of a very cute and neat girl, a couple of years younger than us. There was a box of chocolates on the table, brought by that girl and guess what! Exactly! Name day. I was first in the line to be asked what my name is and when is my Name day. I remember saying it so quietly as if it was a deep secret and the world was not ready to be informed that I hadn’t been in a possession of one… name day. Tears already glimmered in my eyes just to see if there was any knight left in the near.

The old man slowly stood up, still leaning his elbows on the arm chair and a sudden stray of light made the burgundy of his dressing gown shine like the royal mantle of King Richard I "Coeur de Lion" himself. He mildly approached the shelves of the wall library, took a leather book with iron edges and a clutch, blew the dust from its surface and looked it me in a profound manner, “Such a disgrace has not happened so far” , said he in the same mild way he stepped to the shelves. He went through the dry, yellowish pages of the book with his point finger so patiently and carefully and by the way he was lifting his upper lip, one may have already concluded that his mustache has detected the valuable facts and figures we were in need of.

It seemed like a tournament was won and all bright colour flags were flapping in a joyful dance with the breeze. The room became brighter as I felt a tender relief on my shoulders. In fact, this was the old man’s hand that felt this way. Later in my life, such a relief acquired only one hand that was placed on my head under the stole of the priest during my confession.

The silence was as thick as a German butter in a golden foil…

The old man turned toward the window light and triumphantly announced the date of my Name celebration. There was a substantial remuneration for the years before that notable day as it appeared that my name was of very ancient descent. Even now I’m not sure why the patina of this antiquity was so in place then. We sat in a quiet lack of time while I was realizing that one of the most powerful daemons from my childhood was just crashed, brought on the earth and was trodden in the dust. Pfjuuu, it was important. My name was saved. Have I ever wanted to be a princess? No. I wanted to be a surgeon. Yet, that day, in that friendly Secession house, I felt like a princes. Even more – like the Head of all princesses ever known and described in books for children.

20151006_113637.jpg

So, I lived happily ever after. Didn’t bring chocolate at school anyway for my occasion fell in July that is officially summer holidays. The importance of being in possession of my own Name day haven’t decreased because of the fact, nor the patina of the old days lost of its shine. I say! I’m writing about this so many years now. It must have left quite an impression in my child’s head. Strange and curved are our paths in life. That afternoon at my mom’s patient house he was telling us about the academy he has been studying in and was proud to be the one of them all from the first alumni. Many days after that as I have never become a surgeon, I was approved for don’t know exactly which alumni at the same academy. Another thick layer of patina was added on the front façade of my life. It was an Academy, not a simple University as there are many all over the land.

I need to retell you a paragraph from a doctor’s book, published in 1923 on the human health. It explains what is to be healthy. “Health means that you’d like to have some bread. That you’d like to have some water. To be sleepy after the sunset. To have the will to get up early in the morning and to spread your arms, to stretch your breast and deeply breathe, to have the need to walk long distances. Health is to find joy in the sun, to love the wind, to let it lash in your face and to feel a wish to be gone with it. To feel like meeting somebody, to talk to them as if you are close friends. To hear and say kind words. To feel like singing and even when you are sad there will be some whistle deep inside of you. To not think evil of the others and when anyone hurts you or offends you, to feel pity for them and be able to forgive them. To find joy in everything and make happy all around you”. Now. This is how doctor V. Iv. Nenov saw human health at the beginning of the past century.

This book came across me a couple of years ago. It was a leather one, with iron edges and a clutch. Sounds like the profile of the perfect housewife. But it’s not. There isn’t a single measure for everyone and everything. And thanks God there isn’t! What struck me when I read this paragraph was that according to the description in it the old man, my mother’s patient was in a completely perfect state of health. It is indisputable that back in the day of our visit he had the least need of us. It was us who needed him. The knowledge, the wisdom, the secrets and the lessons in his valuable books on the dusty shelves of his library.

бъди-здрав.jpg

It is always good to have an old book at hand. Be persistent in finding at least one. It’s also good to have some old men around, they are the keepers of the life skill by help of which the glitter of a tear transforms into a shining, bright smile. Note this down! Ah, and yes, note the most important thing…knights exist!

All images are my own and you are not allowed to use them without my permission. The image of the health book is from Chetilishte and you can find it here

Sort:  

I loved reading this. Please do join the various discord and there are country based groups also. Your writing is so vivid, thank you

This is profound work ! I liked the health definition given by Dr. V.Iv. Nenov, that was awesome! And your point of having an old book at hand and an old man around is really great, 100℅ I agree with you.
You remind of good story about the old book and the old man, I will post it one day, that will be the insight of this work you posted today, and the fruits of your contribution on steemiteducation community by this post!

Your fellow @steemiteducution community.

Thank you, dear friend! Your kind words mean so much to me and I really appreciate your opinion on my work. I would love to read your story that this post evoked a memory of. It would be very interesting to dwell on the topic from your point of you. Stay in touch and enjoy a marvelous day!

Best wishes,
@ravijojla

Hello! Another great story! I like it

Thank you, Marty!

You support is essential for me for the very beginning. I like this story myself and I'm glad to pass by the house occasionally. It's good to have something to call a smile on your face. Have a lovely day!

Post looks lovely, good job! 💚

Thanks! I kept you in mind.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ravijojla from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you!
Happy about it. :-)

Great post and I love old things and old books can give you so much knowledge that you cNt find in New books.
And the way it's written is usually different to.
Liked the part were the old man grabbed the leather book and that the living room was like step back in time. Well written!

Have a wonderful day. Cheers! 🌹

Thanks! This is so kind! Love having you! Found a couple things in common already!

Congratulations! This post has been featured in the @welcomewagon "Boost Me" post for quality content.

See the post here

Happy to see this! Thank you!

So glad you found your Name Day! And the excerpt from the book you shared is lovely! 💙

PYPT-GOLD-ThanksForSharing.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19