The battle begins anew: the war with my weight

in #health6 years ago

I was a hardcore drug addict. From the age of 19 until i was 27 i damn near used and abused every drug invented. My life became a country song; i lost everything- my jobs, places to live, my freedom, the respect and love of my family, my wife, and my dignity.
I took my very last drug on June 29th, 2006. I found freedom.

But a new battle was brewing.

Very quickly after becoming drug free (getting clean as we say) i began putting on weight. Initially i needed it. I was skinny and in poor health. Within a year i went from 160 to 220. Not too bad for my height and body type. Within 2years i was 250. By year 3 i was a whopping 314 pounds.

I went through a divorce. I decided to get healthy and i did....dropping 80 pounds in 9 months. It felt great. I was running 8 miles every other day and very active.

I'm not going to go through the whole story but suffice it to say i was injured and had to learn how to walk properly again. In the meantime i remarried. Within 2 years of the injury i put most of the weight back on then i have spent the last few years taking it off, putting it on, putting more on, taking it off....rinse, repeat.

Now after all these years my marriage is being affected by my weight. Enough is enough. I've bogged about this in the past but after awhile i just stuck with posting memes about freedom or that i thought were funny.

I find writing to be cathartic. I'm going to get back into my daily thoughts and progress.

As of today, February 8th, 2018 i weigh 344lbs. I'm wearing a size 48 pants and 4xl shirts.
20180210_130818.jpg

Sort:  

keep at it, life is about constant improvements and balance.
Running is very rough on your body, especially if you're not built for it which most people are not. Strength training is a much better and sustainable alternative form of exercise. Best of luck on your journey!

Wow what a story. Though putting on weight is much better for you than being addicted to drugs, it's obviously not great either.

I wish you the best luck on your journey and hope to hear more from you in the future! :)
M

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94